I attempt to deploy a Ninja in camo state in my opponent's half of the table, which requires that I make an Infiltration roll. Do I tell my opponent the Success Value of the roll? The outcome of the roll will sometimes reveal the information in practice, but not always. If I roll a 1, for example, then my opponent won't know which unit I've infiltrated unless I tell them what my Success Value was. It came up in this thread: https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/n4-unresolved-rules-questions.38447/page-2#post-383299 where @inane.imp is of the view that you do have to declare the Success Value (I assume "TN" is "target number"). I want to ask him the basis for that view since I can't find it in the rules, but it would be off-topic in the other thread, hence this thread. The only similar situation I can think of is the Lt roll, where the rule explicitly says that you have to reveal the Success Value. That is mild support for the proposition that you don't have to declare the Success Value when infiltrating, since the Infiltration rule doesn't contain the same explicit statement that you declare.
Yeah, my Infinity RPG is showing - they have Target Numbers. I'm misremembering the rules based on how Lt rolls work in N4. So don't take what I said as the basis for anything. I can't find anything that supports that the SV is Open Information.
If you're going to make the statement "I can't find anything that supports that the SV is Open Information" you should also make the statement "There is nothing to support the idea that the success value of a roll is Private Information." Simply because the rules state that "Information in an Infinity N4 game can be either Open or Private." and then proceed to identify whenever some information is private. I think it's also worth noting that the rules identify only a few things as Open Information: The status of the Lieutenant Order The WIP attribute of the the Lt for the Initiative roll. The Combat Group which a marker belongs to (as an exception to the fact that the contents of the marker is Private Information) In Firefight, Lieutenant status is Open Information instead of Private Information. That isn't a very good case that the SV is private information for an infiltration roll.
If the Lieutenant WIP is open information for the initiative roll, then infiltration roll target values probably are, too.
Personally, I'd say you only need to say you fail or succeed. The number on the dice can reveal which troop to a savvy opponent (for example, suceeding at 14-16 usually means a Infiltration+6 troop, for example Shinobu), but indicating your TN would make it a sure thing only for said savvy opponents (a roll of 1 to 8 says nothing at all about which troop that might be). Not really, the rule for Initiative and Deployment states "In the Initiative Roll, the WIP Attribute of the Lieutenant is Open Information." (emphasis mine).
Personally I think we sometimes overuse the terms "Open Information" and "Private Information" in these conversations. I think those terms only apply to information on a player's army list. IMO, other information is neither open nor private, it's just information. (Examples I've used in the past: the rangebands of a Rifle; the relative positions of the scenery on the table; the location of the bathroom in the gaming space. These are all just information. The concepts of "Open" or "Private" don't apply to them.) In this case, the PH of the infiltrating trooper is clearly Private Information if the trooper is trying to deploy in a marker state. The SV of the infiltration roll is neither open nor private information. The question is, do you declare the SV of every roll you make, or is the SV only declared when the base Attribute is Open Information? I just had another look at the lt roll rules. Turns out it's actually called the Initiative Roll. And it says "In the Initiative Roll, the WIP Attribute of the Lieutenant is Open Information." To me, that suggests that if the Lt's WIP attribute were Private Information, then you wouldn't declare the SV of the roll. It would follow that, since the PH Attribute of an infiltrating camo trooper is Private Information, you don't have to declare the SV of the infiltration roll. Initially I described that as "mild support" for the SV not being declared, but having reread the Initiative Roll rule, I actually think it's pretty strong support for that proposition.
As an added quirk of the LT WIP rule; in the hypothetical case where a unit receives a MOD to their Lieutenant roll, it is still the raw value that is open information. That said, whether the roll is a success, failure or a critical would be something that needs to be announced. So rolling a 15 for Infiltration as JSA is fairly informative for the opponent...