1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"count as" when creating a fireteam

Discussion in 'Rules' started by settra88, Jan 12, 2021.

  1. settra88

    settra88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    IT seems an accepted rule that Nourkias cannot join 2 Overdron in an Haris link.
    That is because he doesn't have the Haris link.

    I'm here to challenge that interpretation! ahaha

    To me when a model "counts as", you just ignore his profile when it comes down to creating a fire team, so because Nourkias counts as a Samaritan, when you are creating his fire team it's like on the table you have a samaritan not Nourkias.

    Prove me wrong :joy:
     
  2. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,028
    Likes Received:
    14,350
  3. settra88

    settra88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    So what does "count as" means?
    Because for my understanding it "counts as" Samaritan, Samaritan has the haris rule, so you can do Samaritan + 2 O or Nourkias + 2 O...
    And I cannot find where the "counts as" stops so to say...
     
  4. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,028
    Likes Received:
    14,350
    It means he can be used whenever a Fireteam mentions a Samaritan. But that doesn't bypass the rules for a Fireteam: Haris.
     
  5. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    2,435
    Likes Received:
    2,459
    He is indeed a Samaritan, but he lacks just a little bit... The Skill Fireteam: Haris.
    None of the Xeodron profiles have it.

    You need AT LEAST one model with the Fireteam: Haris skill.

    Nourkias + 2 Xeodron is NOT valid
    Nourkias + Samaritan + Xeodron is valid (Samaritan has the skill)
    Nourkias + 4 Rodoks is a valid Core (see the note in Rodoks or Samaritan)
     
    Errhile likes this.
  6. settra88

    settra88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh ok, now I understand
     
    ijw likes this.
  7. Kumatake81

    Kumatake81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2020
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    70
    I think count as means exactla that.
    If you create a fireteam of 3 samaritans, nourkias can be one of these three models because he 'counts as'. But one model must still have the Haris skill

    Ninjad
     
  8. settra88

    settra88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes my misunderstanding is that counts as might even mean that if he is in the link or there's a samaritan in the link team that would not make a difference, hence the confusion.

    So for me it could have been that from a 100ft view a link of 1 Samaritan+ 2 O or 2 O + Nourkias was the same from a creation point of view.
     
  9. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,691
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    It's easier to understand if you remember that Fireteam: Haris is a skill (that is required for making a Haris team, as pointed out above). Units that "count as" cannot duplicate skills of those things they count as.
     
    #9 Sabin76, Jan 12, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2021
    Kumatake81 likes this.
  10. Pripekarius

    Pripekarius New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    How does this rule interact with models with Fireteam:Core in profile? For example Wild Bill in Ramah Task Force counts as Janissary. Can you build a core team out of Bill, 2 Hortlaks, Namurr and Tarik? None of them has Fireteam Core listed, but it isn't special skill and Bill is stated to count as Janissary that explicitly can form core links.
    P.S. Same situation happens with Oyama in JSA.
     
  11. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    7,464
    Likes Received:
    13,559
    Correct, because there's no Fireteam Core skill, and therefore no requirement for it when forming a Core, you can use Bill as the sole "Janissary" or Oyama as the sole "Domaru" in a Core.
     
    Hecaton likes this.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation