1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Combined Army in N4

Discussion in 'Combined Army' started by psychoticstorm, Aug 6, 2019.

  1. HardDisk

    HardDisk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    251
    Perhaps, i couldn't find anywhere something denying this, but i can be wrong
     
  2. El tito Zylito

    El tito Zylito Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    30
    this is very interesting, would love to have confirmation about what hardDisk is legal or not!
     
  3. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    2,418
    Guys...

    If you declare a Dodge, Stealth already ceased to work. No matter what you do with your second skill.
     
    Lesh', Stiopa and bladerunner_35 like this.
  4. HardDisk

    HardDisk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    251
    Can you show where i can see it in the rules?
     
  5. Stiopa

    Stiopa Trust The Fuckhead
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,777
    Likes Received:
    8,093
    Stealth effects, second bullet point. Stealth prevents ARO's, if you declare Short Movement Skill or Cautious Movement. Dodge is neither.
     
  6. HardDisk

    HardDisk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    251
    stealth.png

    ► If the user declares a Short Movement Skill or Cautious Movement within the Zone of Control of one or more enemies and stays outside their LoF, he does not grant AROs to those enemies

    Well, in my example the Umbra didn't get to LoF until after the dodge and declares dodge outside ZoC, so stealth is still active RAW
     
  7. Bellyflop

    Bellyflop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    180
    This only works if the Fusilier never gains LoF to Nourkias while Nourkias moves. Which is just how stealth works. You could move move to the Fusilier for the same effect.
     
  8. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    2,039
    While true, Nourkias' +2" dodge means he could potentially get a 10" move instead of an 8" one. In addition, he would be dodging any incoming attacks from elsewhere (though that might make it too risky).
     
  9. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    6,817
    Likes Received:
    13,846
    No? You still declared Dodge, which is not tied to a specific location along your movement. This is why people are referring to Skills being simultaneous.

    That would allow the Fusilier to declare an unopposed CC Attack or Dodge. Unlike N3, entering Silhouette contact with Stealth will prompt an ARO. The only way to avoid this would be while inside Smoke or similar, because then the target wouldn't gain LoF on Silhouette contact.
     
  10. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    2,039
    While I can respect that, bullet 3 specifically calls out the second short skill, not the "other" short skill.

    If this is the intent, then "had" needs to be "has" in the 4th bullet. As written, Angus did not have LoF until reaching Silly contact, at which point having LoF is in present tense.

    I'm sorry if this sounds nit-picky, but as written, it has N3 mechanics. If the intent is for it to be different, then it should be addressed.
     
  11. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    6,817
    Likes Received:
    13,846
    That's not a relevant distinction. When the second Skill is declared, and you move into ZoC, both Skills have happened within ZoC.

    I think we're looking at different bullet points. See Effect 2:
    If the user declares a Short Movement Skill or Cautious Movement within the Zone of Control of one or more enemies and stays outside their LoF, he does not grant AROs to those enemies.​

    My emphasis. As per the LoF rules, being in Silhouette contact grants Troopers 360º LoF but only within Silhouette contact.

    If you declare a Move into contact, you don't stay outside LoF (ignoring Smoke etc.).

    As far as I'm concerned, it needed another rewrite for clarity, but that wasn't my decision to make. :-(
     
    RobertShepherd likes this.
  12. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    2,039
    Agreed. It's, honestly, a pretty big change to stealth, especially for CC units, that is written waay too much like the N3 rule.
     
  13. HardDisk

    HardDisk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    251
    I know that skills are simultaneous, but as @Sabin76 said:


    I disagree, the dodge rule says:

    ► A successful Normal or Face to Face Dodge Roll allows the user to move up to 2 inches.
    This movement:
    ► Does not generate AROs or trigger Deployable Weapons or Equipment.

    If a unit gets LoF caused by a dodge movement, he can't ARO
     
  14. Bellyflop

    Bellyflop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    180
    There is a second ARO step after second short skill. It specifically calls out declare ARO's after movement is complete. This would generate an ARO

    [​IMG]
     
  15. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    6,817
    Likes Received:
    13,846
    If you check the thread, you’ll see that this was in response to someone talking about doing a Move-Move into combat.
     
  16. HardDisk

    HardDisk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    251
    Ok, perhaps i was not clear enough, let's try with a picture CCnoARO.png

    1°- A uses an order just outside ZoC of B, A can declare dodge without AROs
    2°- A declare move and have stealth, the stealth rules allows to move inside ZoC without AROs
    3°- Resolution step: roll dodge
    4°- Dodge move into CC with no AROs!
     
  17. HardDisk

    HardDisk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    251
    move-move is not the same as a dodge+move, there's no ARO check step after the resolution for the dodge move
     
  18. HardDisk

    HardDisk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    251
    For the record, i don't want stealth to work this way, but thats RAW for me, a FAQ would be nice.

    On the 3° bullet point, instead "if the second Short Skill of the Order is any non-Movement Skill, then those enemies can react normally in ARO."
    Was "if any other Short Skill of the Order is any non-Movement Skill, then those enemies can react normally in ARO."
    then this conversation would never exist.
     
  19. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    2,039
    No one is disputing that anymore (I don't think). There were two different conversations going on: the one about Dodge + Move, and Bellyflop thinking it would be identical to a Move + Move (which is incorrect) which sparked the side conversation about the consequences of the stealth revision to the Move + Move order (which should be over, at this point).
     
    HardDisk and ijw like this.
  20. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,723
    Likes Received:
    7,001
    Can you please copy this post into a new thread in the rules forum rather than leaving it buried 19 pages into an N4 speculation thread?
     
    Alphz, HardDisk and ijw like this.