1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Clarification on Casevac cancellation clause.

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Diphoration, Jul 12, 2019.

  1. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    150
    Greetings,

    One of the casevac cancellation clause seems to be missing a word on the wiki and I would like a clarification.

    The trooper that declared Casevac can cancel it voluntarily just spending a Short Skill of the Order.
    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Casevac_State


    Does it mean I can cancel it volountarily when I spend a Short Skill of the Order, or do I need to spend a Short Skill exclusively for the cancellation?

    Thanks.
     
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,660
    Likes Received:
    6,399
    You need to spend a Short Skill just on cancelling the state, so Move+Cancel Casevac would be valid, but Dodge+Cancel would not as that is two Short Skills. The wording is very similar to re-entering a marker state by spending an Entire Order Skill.
     
    Diphoration likes this.
  3. Ogid

    Ogid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    528
  4. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    Yeah, I think that's really important to not lose sight of the previous bullet point:
    and then later:
    • The trooper that declared Casevac can cancel it voluntarily just spending a Short Skill of the Order.
    is essentially there to cover the "In case you don't have anything else that you can possibly do, but you want to cancel the state, you can" case.
    Like the situation that TO Camo and Camo markers, or hidden deployment models, end up in when they want to reveal to claim a quadrant or something but no one's around for them to do anything to.
     
  5. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    150
    Thanks for the replies!

    I was looking for the most order-effective way to drop a casevac'd Kuang Shi to shoot at it to affect camo'ed troops. :)

    I didn't end up needed that strategy in today's tournament, but I'm keeping it up my sleeve!
     
  6. Ogid

    Ogid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    528
    I think that's not legal
    Explode level 1 is an automatic skill, so it won't work if the Kuang Shi is already in the unconscious state. Can the Control device override that?
     
  7. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,246
    Likes Received:
    6,445
    Kuang Shi have Biolocators.

    He's going to pick a Biolocatored Kuang Shi up and drop it off near an enemy to have a Shotgun-pivot target and Repeater all in one. So, drive the Heavy Shotgun Su-Jian carrying one such Kuang Shi up to within roughly 9" of a (TO) Camo marker that needs to die, declare BS Attack (thus dropping the Kuang Shi right in front of you) and target the Kuang Shi. Now you're effectively shooting the marker at BS of 21 (assuming you don't bother going into combat form) instead of having to spend an order Discovering it, making back the order inefficiency you accrued by picking the Kuang Shi up. Or you simply just hose the Kuang Shi down in napalm if you're feeling less fancy, but your opponent has higher odds of Dodging that and can Hack you and stuff.
    Hopefully on the way you can also Surprise Hack enemy hackers using the built-in Repeater.

    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Biolocator
     
    Ogid likes this.
  8. Ogid

    Ogid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    528
    Oh right, forgot about that s**t, I thought he was talking about blow up an unconscious Kuang Shi.
    The Kuang Shi seem designed to ignore and abuse of all these rules lol.
    You can't attack allies? You need to detect enemy before affecting them? "Hold my beer"

    I don't like that mechanic, it makes 0 sense thematically you can affect models that way.
     
    Mahtamori likes this.
  9. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5,011
    Likes Received:
    7,925
    The KS have always been really sketchy, ruleswise. Not that they are any less sketchy in fluff...
     
    Ogid likes this.