1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

CC atack and knife

Discussion in 'Rules' started by konuhageruke, Jun 22, 2018.

  1. konuhageruke

    konuhageruke Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    650
    Can someone write me a proper sequence of the tetst that will happen of following situations.
    A) atacker has stealth B) atacker does not have stealth.
    1. Atacker comes to enemy outside LoF
    2. Enemy is asked for ARO
    3. Atacker uses knife (silent) to CC Atack
    4. Enemy is asked for ARO

    What tests for atack and Arm are made and in what order?
     
  2. meikyoushisui

    meikyoushisui Competitor for Most Ignored User

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    2,291
    AFAIK they become normal rolls in case A. The attacked unit can't apply Dodge-Change Face unless he survives the initial attack.

    In case B, movement in the attacked models ZoC grants him an ARO, silent doesn't cancel AROs generated by the first short skill.
     
  3. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Attacker has Stealth:

    Attacker is Activated by an Order, declares Move into base to base with the Defender.
    Due to Stealth, no ARO at this time.
    Attacker declares attack with Knife. This breaks Stealth, granting an ARO. Silent on the Knife does nothing since Defender now has LoF due to Base to Base contact.
    Defender declares ARO. Options are Dodge, CC, or other special things that might be allowed.

    Roll dice for the Face to Face and resolve.

    Attacker does not have Stealth:

    Attacker is Activated by an Order, declares Move into base to base with the Defender.
    Due to no Stealth, ARO must now be declared. LoF is granted by Base to Base, but BS Attack is not available since LoF did not exist prior to Base to Base (due to being behind facing). Options are Dodge, CC, or other special things that might be allowed.
    Attacker declares attack with Knife. Silent on the Knife does nothing since Defender now has LoF due to Base to Base contact.

    Roll dice for the Face to Face and resolve.
     
  4. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,618
    Likes Received:
    10,264
    No, that's for silent ranged weapons from out of LoF. A knife attack will still be F2F.

    Because you always have LoF to everyone you're in CC with the victim of a knife attack has the same selection of AROs as if they were attacked with a CCW, the difference is that you won't provoke any AROs from other nearby troopers in ZoC but out if LoF (such as change facing, Jammer, hacking)
     
    Hecaton and meikyoushisui like this.
  5. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    1,922
    The advantage of a Knife (Silent trait on a CC weapon) is to avoid ARO from OTHER models than the attacked one.
     
  6. Gunmage

    Gunmage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    255
    So, basically, there is no way to get a Normal roll on a CC Attack against a non-Null/Immobilized figure, save for Berserk?
     
  7. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,536
    Likes Received:
    11,279
    Short of reacting to a non-Leader in a Fireteam/Coordinated Order/G:Sync attack, no.
     
    Gunmage, chromedog and toadchild like this.