1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

C1 template issue

Discussion in 'Rules' started by konuhageruke, Aug 4, 2020.

  1. konuhageruke

    konuhageruke Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    673
    I encountered another issue in C1.
    upload_2020-8-4_10-10-18.png
    this is part of official template from CD download section.
    upload_2020-8-4_10-11-14.png
    This is part of C1 book.

    "The Template cannot be placed so that it would go through the Silhouette of the Trooper that is declaring the Attack (see example)."

    According to the original template, there is no way to do something shown on the lower picture (upper template). What is the area of the Blast focus, at the tip of the template, that we can manipulate with?

    Additional. If I have B2 on template weapon, can I use 2 points of my silhuette to place blast focus with, or a single one?
     
  2. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,450
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    I think the top image is for the large template, the bottom image is for the small template which may not exist in code 1.
     
  3. Lawson

    Lawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2020
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    517
    Here are what the actual templates look like from the C1 Kaldstrom - you can see that the large template does indeed have the dot oriented in such a way that you probably can't shoot it off the side of a base without it technically overalapping the figure, but I think you could get away with it with the small template. IMG_4921.jpg . The small template is used in C1 for things like the Light Shotgun

    Page 45 of the C1 rulebook says this: " Those Direct Template Weapons that have a Burst (B) value higher than 1, allow the Template to be placed as many times per Order as their Burst (B) value indicates, and to distribute this B among
    different targets if so wished."

    So the answer to your second question is yes... not only can you place the template against multiple parts of your silhouette, but at multiple points in your movement as well, so you could shoot once in one direction at the beginning of your move from one part of your silhouette and then from another part later (note, this is wrong, see response from colbrook below). There is even a picture example in another part of the book showing an active figure apparently firing in two different directions in a way that looks like they are shooting outside of the their own firing arc - I think the rationale is that while active your move could involve spinning in place to shoot in both directions. (also potentially incorrect, see below). You can place the template against multiple points on your silhouette though, yes.
     
    #3 Lawson, Aug 12, 2020
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2020
  4. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    7,765
    Likes Received:
    14,088
    Slight correction here, all shots from a BS Attack must be taken from the same point, bullet point 4 under Effects: https://infinitythewiki.com/index.php?title=BS_Attack
     
  5. Lawson

    Lawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2020
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    517
    Sorry, yes, you are correct on that point colbrook in the rules - I got too excited over an image that showed multiple shots from what appeared to be different points of movement/rotation.
    Essentially this image suggests these two shots are legal with a B2 weapon (the x on the one figure is because its prone, not because the attack isn't inherently legal)
    Screen Shot 2020-08-12 at 2.28.36 AM.png
    However its odd to me that it makes it looks like you can fire a template weapon from outside your LOF arc, and it led me to believe that static rotation was happening in the move. But that brings up an odd question... don't you NEED to have LOF to make a BS attack? The Template portion of the rulebook just says the template needs to touch your base. This would seem to suggest that either...
    1) you don't need LOF to fire the template weapon (seems wrong based on the BS Attack rules, which it would be contradicting)
    2) this is a bad illustration that is trying to show something 3-dimensional in simple 2D orthographic terms and therefore it makes it look like the figure is taking a shot from outside its arc (e.g. the reactive figures aren't actually at 180 degrees from one another in opposite directions)
    3) similar to 2, the active figure is oriented in an odd way that actually would allow its arc to see all those figures but the illustration doesn't show it properly

    What say you?
     
    #5 Lawson, Aug 12, 2020
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2020
  6. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,042
    Likes Received:
    14,372
    Yes, this is correct. From the Line of Fire rules,
    • Troopers that declared any Skill with the Movement Label can draw a 360ยบ LoF all along their route.
     
    colbrook likes this.
  7. Lawson

    Lawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2020
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    517
    Thanks, I think I misinterpreted the rules as implying a 360 degree potential LOF because obviously you could be any facing at any point in a move, as opposed to a true temporary 360 degree LOF that would allow you fire in essentially all directions at once. Thank you for clarifying - I see now where its lists din the rules.
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation