1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boarding Shotgun (Blast mode)

Discussion in 'Rules' started by seidelmx, Jun 30, 2020.

Tags:
  1. seidelmx

    seidelmx New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hello,

    How works Boarding Shotgun (Blast mode)?

    Ex:

    A shot to B,C,D enemy troops in the same template.

    B,C,D evade using PH?

    What happens if they fail to evade?

    Thank you.
     
  2. Errhile

    Errhile A traveller on the Silk Road

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    2,762
    First, you declare your target. Let's say it is model B.

    Then, you check who else is catched under the template - in your example, it would be models C & D.

    They all declare ARO - in your case, that's Dodge.

    Then, we calculate the attack value against model B (attacker's BS, and all the modifiers: range, cover, camo of the target etc). Also, modifiers to Dodging (Surprise Shot if A was in Camo Marker state, or Teplate outside of LOS for C&D if they couldn't see A, etc).

    Next, we roll the dice:
    - any attack roll that missed B, is a total miss and will be discarded.
    - any attack roll of value that would hit B needs to be beaten by Dodge rolls as per normal Face-to-Face Roll.

    Let's say a Haqqislamite al'Hawwa jumped three Nomad Alhuaciles with his Boarding Shotgun:
    For simplicity's sake, he wasn't Camouflaged. Range is up to 8" to the closest Alguacile B, who isn't in Cover. All the Alguaciles can see the al'Hawwa. So:

    - al'Hawwa shoots on 17 or less (BS 11 +6 for shotgun inside 8").
    - Alguaciles dodge on 10 or less (their PH 10).

    If al'Hawwa rolls 15 & 19, the 19 is a miss and is discarded. 15 is a hit value the Alguaciles maus Dodge against (though with PH 10, only a Crit will help...). They, however, roll 2 (B), 16 (C) and 19 (D), and have to take damage.

    If the to hit dice were 6 & 19, they'd be dodging against the 6, which gives them a real chance of dodging effectively. If they rolls were 4 (B), 9 (C) and 12 (D), the C would have successfully dodged the blast, however A & C would still be hit.

    Caveat: a Critical success counts (automatic hit & wound) as such only against the initial target (in our case, B). The targets behind it treat it as a simple hit of a given roll value. In the example I'm making up above, the al'Hawwa crits on 17s, so should he do so, the Alguacile B would be automatically wounded by it, but the other two would be allowed to dodge (though still, against a roll of 17, which with their PH requires a Crit to succeed), and do an Armor roll if they fail.
     
    seidelmx likes this.
  3. Brokenwolf

    Brokenwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    @Errhile, the rule question was about Code One, not N3. For Code One, any models of B,C,or D that fail their dodge roll would be hit and would have to make a saving throw against a damage 14 attack.
     
    HellLois and seidelmx like this.
  4. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4,147
    Likes Received:
    7,847
    I think this is going to happen more and more due to the way the forum formats thread titles on some pages, so I opened this request to see if it's possible to make the labeling more clear.
     
  5. Errhile

    Errhile A traveller on the Silk Road

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    2,762
    Damn.
    You're right... I was absolutely sure it was an N3 question, not C1.

    My bad :(
     
    Brokenwolf and seidelmx like this.
  6. seidelmx

    seidelmx New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Many thanks for the answers. The question is por CodeOne.
     
  7. seidelmx

    seidelmx New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    In this case 14-ARM?
     
  8. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    8,703
    Likes Received:
    15,870
    Yes.

    Shotguns also get burst 2 with their template mode so failing the Dodge can cause 2 ARM rolls if both templates are placed over the same target. You only ever roll one dice for Dodge and compare the result against all incoming attacks.
     
    seidelmx and Brokenwolf like this.
  9. seidelmx

    seidelmx New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thank you
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation