1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

ARO - change facing / reset

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Deimos, Oct 28, 2018.

  1. Deimos

    Deimos New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello guys, i have a couple of questions about ARO mechanics:

    • Model A moves in ZoC of Model B, out of his LoF (let's say behind a corner). Model B could declare change facing or reset as an ARO, but he doesn't (since he is already looking at the corner). As his second skill Model A moves again passing the corner, now in LoF of model B. Can Model B declare a BS shoot ARO? I think not because he losed his ARO deciding not to declare a change facing or reset after Model A first skill declaration, but I'm not sure about it.

    • Model A moves in ZoC of Model B, out of his LoF (let's say behind a corner). Model B could declare change facing or reset as an ARO, but he doesn't. As his second skill Model A declares hacking on Model B. Can Model B declare a reset now? As before I think not because he should have declared reset after Model A first skill declaration, is it correct?

    • On the other hand, if Model A has stealth, I think that in both cases above Model B could declare his ARO after Model A second skill (the second movement or the hacking) because Model B didn't have any ARO available before. Is it correct?

    Thanks a lot for your help!
     
  2. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,414
    Likes Received:
    4,929
    yes.

    Additionally, Stealth is "optional" Models with it can always elect NOT to use it to force the ARO.

    And Yes this is deliberately designed into the game
     
    chromedog, Deimos, ijw and 1 other person like this.
  3. Deimos

    Deimos New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok, thanks! :)
     
    daboarder likes this.
  4. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,414
    Likes Received:
    4,929
    no worries
     
  5. Blakhart

    Blakhart Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    13
    Why does Model B get to declare Reset on the 2nd Short Skill if it could have declared it on the first Short Skill?
     
  6. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    508
    In the first two bullet, Model B could have declared on the first and therefore cannot declare Reset on the 2nd Short Skill.

    In the third bullet, Model B could NOT declare on the first (because Stealth is active when Moving) and therefore can Reset on the 2nd Short because it is his very first time he has an opportunity to ARO (because Stealth stops working when you declare a hacking Attack; and also Stealth does not prevent LoF ARO).
     
    Blakhart likes this.
  7. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,130
    Likes Received:
    7,316
    It doesn't, you were correct in your initial thinking.

    AROs are use it or lose it, unless you have something that allows you to delay (6th Sense, ARO against a Marker State)
     
    Blakhart likes this.
  8. Blakhart

    Blakhart Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    13
    Okay, that's what I thought. The 2nd poster just answered "Yes" to, seemingly, ALL of the OP's questions. Didn't seem correct and just wanted to make sure I didn't miss something.
     
    Robock likes this.
  9. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    508
    Ah I see the place for confusion. I understood "Yes" as "you are correct" in the context of the first post.

    The first question "Can he shoot ?" was followed by "I think not". the conclusion "I think not" is correct.

    The second question "Can he reset?" followed by "I think not" and "Am I correct?". The answer is "yes/you are correct".

    Third, he only states "I think the model can", ending once again with "Is it correct?". The answer is "yes/you are correct".
     
  10. Blakhart

    Blakhart Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    13
    Well, it was the 2nd question really. The OP ask 2 different question in the one point. The 2nd Posters answer was, "Yes"...
    It just was a clear answer was all.