1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ARO and Cover

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Morkai5, May 12, 2020.

  1. Morkai5

    Morkai5 New Member

    Jun 2, 2018
    Likes Received:
    In the CodeOne video from Guerrilla Miniature Games (link here), Ash gets cover in his face to face rolls if a miniature begins out of cover but ends its movement in cover. He says it's a change from previous edition.

    But in the CodeOne Rulebook, page 23, it says:

    In Infinity CodeOne, Orders and AROs are simultaneous regardless of the Skills declared. For example, if an activated Trooper declares Move + BS Attack and chooses to shoot from its starting position (to take advantage of a favorable Range), and its target reacts with a BS Attack, choosing to shoot at the end of the Movement (again, for Range purposes), then both actions are still considered to be simultaneous for all game purposes.

    So, I read that I can still choose to shoot the miniature when he has no cover yet. Am I wrong?
  2. tox

    tox SorriBarai

    Feb 21, 2017
    Likes Received:
    No you're not.
    There is even an example (page 68) where it is represented.

    The fusilier opens fire on the Caliban before he reaches cover.

    The error came from one of the first video, where it seemed the contrary. But the rules are pretty clear about.
    Morkai5 and Mahtamori like this.
  3. Vocenoctum

    Vocenoctum Well-Known Member

    Dec 24, 2019
    Likes Received:
    I commented in the video that there's still the "all at once" rule, so he clarified that the starter rules in Kaldstrom don't have it, but Code One does. He was just doing a Kaldstrom game with the rules/ missions as they were written rather than adding in the full rules.

    It's worth noting that the video was made before CodeOne released, he just happened to uploaded it now. There's a few things he says during the video that date it that way.
    Morkai5 likes this.
  4. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Dec 19, 2017
    Likes Received:
    Disclaimer: I clicked through to the video, then clicked through to see what other videos they had. It’s wargaming variety show. That’s the sort of thing you want for the enthusiasm, and the overall impressions, not the technical details, I think. Sort of like old school Bostria videos. :)

    Anyway, the Kaldstrom box has the same sort of extended introduction rules that the other Operation boxes do. It can be sort of infuriating looking at the missions and thinking about what they chose to leave out compared to what sold me on the game originally. :-/
    AdmiralJCJF and Morkai5 like this.
  5. CabalTrainee

    CabalTrainee Well-Known Member

    Apr 27, 2018
    Likes Received:
    GMGs Infinity videos have alot of rules mistakes in them. Especially in N3. I wouldn't take anything Ash does in there as rules explanations. I do love the channel though. The dude is playing so many different systems i think it is alright to not be ass deep in all of them. I love the channel for the variety.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.


    Why are we here?


    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation