1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

8-Ball Swapping Valkyrie

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Jonah, Dec 16, 2019.

  1. Jonah

    Jonah Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hi all. I had another interesting question come up in the tournament I was running on the weekend. Valkyrie's card states 'Enemy Effects cannot move, Place or Displace you' but 8-Balls Tactic Dance for Me! states that you 'Swap the positions of 2 targets within Range 1-2'. So can you do this on Valkyrie? Although you are physically moving the model (i.e by picking it up and putting it on a different hex) the terminology is different - Swap rather than move/Place/Displace. I ruled that yes this could be done (although I don't think the 8-Ball player ended up doing it in the end) for this reason (a Swap is not one of the things that cannot effect Valkyrie) but was I correct?

    Thanks
     
  2. Jonah

    Jonah Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    10
    Nevermind, I've answered this myself! Swapping means that you Place so you cannot do it to Valkyrie.

    Untitled.png
     
    Flipswitch likes this.
  3. Flipswitch

    Flipswitch Sepsitorised by Intent
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    2,171
    My first thought is no.

    Mainly because the wording on Valkyries card is "cannot move, ..." and I'd link swapping someone is "moving" Valkyrie. But it isn't a Key Word on the ruling, it's whether Swap comes under "moving" someone. Which it is.

    It's whether Swap exempts you as it doesn't specify Swap on her Card.


    Swap is a Placement, so no! :)
     
    Jonah likes this.
  4. Jonah

    Jonah Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    10
    Good edit :joy:

    Good job for me the 8-Ball player didn't end up using it on Valkyrie!