Dodge ARO against Move+Move

Tema en '[Archived]: N4 Rules' iniciado por Achelon, 4 Nov 2022.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. Achelon

    Achelon Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    6 Nov 2018
    Mensajes:
    63
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    48
    Hi guys,

    We have a doubt regarding the interaction and resolution of the Dodge ARO against a Move+Move situation.

    The doubt comes from the rules of Dodge, as the movement of the Dodge action take place on the 6.1 step of the order, the effects step of the resolution, after all the movements have been done by the active player.

    Situation is this:

    1) Player A declares Move as first action, measures and moves, and while doing so enters ZoC of player B
    2) Player B declares Dodge as his ARO
    3) Player A declares Move as his second action, measures and moves
    4) Player B does the Dodge roll and succeeds
    5) Player B does the Dodge movement...but Player A is now outside his range, even through when he could declare the ARO was in range of the Dodge movement

    And here is where things became weird, as there are two opinions:

    Opinion 1)
    Given that everything "happens at once", player B can Dodge into contact with player A as during A's movement, there was a point where he could reach with his Dodge movement (at this point there are also 2 options):
    Option 1.1 -> The troops stay at the point where B reached A using his Dodge movement
    Option 1.2 -> The troops stay at the end of A's movement even if that makes B teleport

    Opinion 2)
    Given that you do the movements during order declaration, but Dodge movement is done AFTER, during Effects step in the resolution, at that moment, player A is out of range, movement of Dodge can be done, but you can't reach close combat.


    We've been reading the rulebook, the FAQs and wiki, but nothing is crystal clear yet.

    Oh mighty @ijw , help us!

    Thanks!
     
    #1 Achelon, 4 Nov 2022
    Última edición: 4 Nov 2022
  2. Iskandar

    Iskandar Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    14 Sep 2021
    Mensajes:
    164
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    242
    It's option 2. You make your dodge movement and if you reach silhouette contact with the model where it is at the end of it's move then you can if you can't you can't
     
    A Jumara le gusta esto.
  3. anubis

    anubis sarcastic exaggerator

    Registrado:
    25 Oct 2020
    Mensajes:
    471
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.240
    Straight out of wiki:




    Movement and placing miniatures at their final position is part of Step 3 of the Order Expediture Sequence.
    Rolling dice comes with Step 5, applying effects like the Dodge movement with Step 5.1.
    The 4th Bulletin of the Effekts of a succesful dodge mentions, that the dodging modell can enter engaged state as long as the movement is enough to reach Silhouette contact with that enemy.
    When the MOV-MOVing modell is out of range to the Dodge-movement, there is no way of entering engaged state.


    There was a time i remember when folks like daturazi could hang on bikes that drove by, but i think the order expenditure sequence made sure this will not happen again.
     
    #3 anubis, 4 Nov 2022
    Última edición: 4 Nov 2022
    Jumara, Papa Bey, Abydog y otra persona les gusta esto.
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation