Line of fire/line of sight and sixth sense

Tema en '[Archived]: N3 Rules' iniciado por Eldpollard, 4 Mar 2019.

  1. A Mão Esquerda

    A Mão Esquerda Deputy Hexahedron Officer

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    3.501
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    4.296
    As a purely pedantic quibble, we likely entered ad hominem territory when your reading and English comprehension skills were insulted.
     
    A TheRedZealot le gusta esto.
  2. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    A TheRedZealot y A Mão Esquerda les gusta esto.
  3. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    It's the difference between something like "Movement" and "Move" - not that easy to understand in your second language.

    And now you're just making shit up.

    No, but not having LoF from the blast focus to you will.



    Nope. The Infinity rules aren't organized or edited with that level of competency or intent.

    And here you're just making stuff up that's not in the rules to justify your viewpoint. The rules clearly state you need LoF from the blast focus to be affected by the template.


    Which are both subsets of the "Cover" section in the rulebook i.e. they're types of cover.

    Except that Cover, in its entirety, is restricted to being granted by scenery in the opening lines of the Cover section. The part you keep harping on about doesn't say that it includes non-scenery elements.

    I've been consistently showing your viewpoints to be logically inconsistent, we don't even need to bring intent into it, the only thing we can say for certain is that you're wrong.

    I keep repeating myself because you're trying to evade the point that undermines your whole argument, and I'm not interested in engaging with viewpoint that's just your house rules.

    So, since someone in a smoke grenade has total cover with respect to people outside of it, by your reading, that means sixth sense lets you shoot through total cover? Fantastic!

    Yes, and this is why the LoF/cover rules are poorly written and edited and self-contradictory.

    I'm not saying the rules are good.

    And now we're in house rule territory. As long as you admit that, that's fine. Just don't try to enforce it on people with tournaments.

    Well, you started with the disrespect. I know you think I did, but all I did was tell you you're wrong - which I suppose is the height of disrespect for your fragile ego.
     
  4. Teslarod

    Teslarod when in doubt, Yeet

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.417
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    4.906
    Exactly, it's different words! Just like Scenery isnt the same thing as Cover and Cover isn't the same thing as Scenery... which you still seem mildly confused about.
    Nope let me get a screenshot for you. Oh and here's the URL http://infinitythewiki.com/de/Template_Weapons_and_Equipment[​IMG]
    Seems to be all there as mentioned under Area of Effect. You're welcome.
    Correct, but only if it's obstructed by Scenery as per the "Template Weapons, Scenery Items, and Total Cover" Paragraph under "Area of Effect". Oh how weird, I'm getting a dejavue.
    At least when it doesn't suit you I assume.
    Nah the rules clearly state this:
    Effects
    • Any trooper in base contact with a Template, or whose base or Silhouette Template is covered at least partially by a Template, is equally affected by the Template Weapon or Equipment.
    In addition to that

    Each Template has a Blast Focus to determine if nearby scenery protects a trooper from the Template's effects. If LoF can be drawn from the Blast Focus to the trooper, then that trooper is affected by the Template. However, if the LoF cannot be drawn due to the presence of a piece of scenery, then the trooper is considered to be in Total Cover and is not affected by the Template.

    But in short you mostly end up getting hit as long as the template touches you unless LOF to the Blast Focus is blocked by Scenery.
    Apart from that one stupid requirement not mentioning Scenery and the rules breaking on multiple points with your funny interpretation of them.
    Well the part I keep harping on about only mentions the game term LOF... it fixes the problem you desperately want to have in the game and it is RAW. If you end up being right that would just be classic CB, eh?
    You have consistently showing that you've ran out of reason to back your own points my friend. Mostly why holes appear in the rules when we use your "logic".
    "Nope. The Infinity rules aren't organized or edited with that level of competency or intent." was it?
    No silly, why would it? The Zero Vis Zone rules provide a clear interaction for that case.
    Yet your whole argument hinges on them being consistent with what you want to claim them to be.
    No one is, that's for sure.
    I wonder which one is the house rule "ignoring LOF grants LOF" or "ignoring LOF doesn't grant LOF". When one let's you shoot through solid walls and troops the other oddly enough doesn't.
    Ah the classic "no u!". Jolly good fun. Thank you very much for your inquiries about my ego, it's doing quite alright, how are you holding up mate?
     
    #24 Teslarod, 7 Mar 2019
    Última edición: 7 Mar 2019
    A A Mão Esquerda le gusta esto.
  5. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    @Teslarod listen, man, trying to act like the rules back you up in this when they're just a poorly-edited mess is absurd. The rules think Total Cover is synonymous with "LoF obstructed by terrain" and trying to append other definitions to it is just gonna screw things up.
     
    A Razi le gusta esto.
  6. Teslarod

    Teslarod when in doubt, Yeet

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.417
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    4.906
    The same way as that ridiculous "The Active Trooper" and AROs vs Hackers in Fireteams "should work" because the rules always refer to the Active Trooper in singular?

    Yeah man, I'm good over here, I like using my brain on occasion. You do you though, people just can't seem to get enough of you lately.
     
    A A Mão Esquerda le gusta esto.
  7. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    19 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    809
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    630
  8. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    It not perfect written, but it works.

    Blast focus also specify specifically that if scenery blocks LOF, a trooper is considered to be in Total Cover. As you'd note, it doesn't say "if a trooper is in Total Cover" but instead specify separately what constitutes Total Cover.

    Is it really necessary to go to this length over this?
     
  9. FatherKnowsBest

    FatherKnowsBest Red Knight of Curmudgeon

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    355
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    635
    I m might be missing something, but who are you responding to? But everything you've been posting is correct.
     
    A Alphz, Teslarod y A Mão Esquerda les gusta esto.
  10. Teslarod

    Teslarod when in doubt, Yeet

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.417
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    4.906
    You might have our boy Hecaton on ignore or something if you can't see the fun parts.
    Thanks anyway.
     
    Alphz, BLOODGOD, inane.imp y 2 otros les gusta esto.
  11. FatherKnowsBest

    FatherKnowsBest Red Knight of Curmudgeon

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    355
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    635
    Ah, it all makes sense now. Yeah the forum is a better place when you remove the garbage.
     
    Alphz, chromedog, oldGregg y otra persona les gusta esto.
  12. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    That same section also says that you need LoF to be affected by the blast, and LoF can be blocked by troopers smoke etc.
     
  13. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    Yes, I acknowledged as much. The rules do convey what they mean, so it's a small logical typo that's not really worth getting in a fight over.
     
    A inane.imp y A Mão Esquerda les gusta esto.
  14. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    I think that the rules convey that total cover is only provided by scenery, so...
     
    A Razi le gusta esto.
  15. Razi

    Razi Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    5 Dic 2018
    Mensajes:
    129
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    93
    What purpose does Total Cover even serve as a rule? Actions already include LoF as a prerequisite or not. I suppose Guts movement requires you to move towards Total Cover first but that could be worded differently.
     
    A Hecaton le gusta esto.
  16. Teslarod

    Teslarod when in doubt, Yeet

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.417
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    4.906
    It prevents BS Attack declarations in general.

    Pretty important so Sixth Sense troops can't shoot back through walls and troops in between. Sixth Sense lets you ignore LOF and you would have Magic Bullet Time if Total Cover wouldn't prevent BS Attack declarations in those cases.

    Without Total Cover you could shoot back at someone Hacking you through a Repeater from halfway across the table as long as you have Sixth Sense.
    To be fair the issue is mostly Sixth Sense and its wording.
     
    #36 Teslarod, 12 Mar 2019
    Última edición: 12 Mar 2019
    A FatherKnowsBest, Razi y Wolf les gusta esto.
  17. Razi

    Razi Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    5 Dic 2018
    Mensajes:
    129
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    93
    What BS attack does it prevent? BS attacks already have a LoF requirement or not.

    Regarding SS, it's a mess of a rule already and has essentially been stated to only affect facing and zero vis zones. If Total Covers only purpose was to make SS work as a rule, there are other issues to deal with first. Namely SS.

    I just don't see what would really change if Total Cover was removed as a rule. Having LoF or not is checked and taken into account with every action made. We must make these checks because Total Cover is a dynamic state. It relies on the position and skills of the troopers involved. There is no point at which we can say, I'm in Total Cover and immune to any specific attacks. It's not like camo where the position of the enemy trooper is irrelevant to its function.
     
  18. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.708
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.086
    Total Cover is important to impact templates as it's the only way to block the LoF of the blast focus since ZvZs don't.
     
  19. Razi

    Razi Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    5 Dic 2018
    Mensajes:
    129
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    93
    The template rules already handle this by checking LoF. I don't see what else is gained by stating the trooper is considered to be in Total Cover as in the case below.

    Each Template has a Blast Focus to determine if nearby scenery protects a trooper from the Template's effects. If LoF can be drawn from the Blast Focus to the trooper, then that trooper is affected by the Template. However, if the LoF cannot be drawn due to the presence of a piece of scenery, then the trooper is considered to be in Total Cover and is not affected by the Template.​
     
  20. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.708
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.086
    Do you mean to say that you think it would be fine if it just said:

    "Each Template has a Blast Focus to determine if nearby scenery protects a trooper from the Template's effects. If LoF can be drawn from the Blast Focus to the trooper, then that trooper is affected by the Template. However, if the LoF cannot be drawn due to the presence of a piece of scenery, then the trooper is not affected by the Template."
     
    A Razi le gusta esto.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation