Delayed ARO declaration

Tema en '[Archived]: N3 Rules' iniciado por Gunmage, 12 Oct 2018.

  1. Gunmage

    Gunmage General Contact Unit

    Registrado:
    4 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    330
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    363
    Our community isn't fluent in English, so we have a problem interpreting this FAQ:
    There are two positions:
    1) Since there is a definite article before "ARO", you have to choose which action you are delaying when you declare a delay, i.e. "This trooper delays a BS Attack" or "This trooper delays a Dodge";
    2) You can choose whether you are Dodging or Shooting if/when the marker de-camoes, the "obligatory" part only refers to the fact that if you are delaying, then you must indicate that fact to the opponent at the moment you get this opportunity; i.e. "This trooper delays an action", and then after decamouing of the target "Now he does BS Attack".

    Which one is right?
     
    A pakohbadajoz le gusta esto.
  2. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    Option 2. You have to say that you are delaying your ARO, but not what the ARO would be.
     
    inane.imp, chromedog, Gunmage y otra persona les gusta esto.
  3. pakohbadajoz

    pakohbadajoz Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Feb 2018
    Mensajes:
    156
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    67
    You never HAVE TO do an ARO.
    You CAN do an ARO IF YOU WANT (and other requirements: LoF, ZoC...).
    You CAN delay your aro IF YOU WANT (and other requirements: SixthSense in ZoC, vs a Camo...).

    ...
    And that FAQ means: "IF you WANT DELAY your aro (in same situation other troops could do it) you must say it.


    I.e.
    - Camo "A" moves in LoF with Camo "B",
    -Camo B delay its ARO (optional).

    01
    -Camo A reveals itself, Camo B can do "all" possibles AROs.
    02
    -Camo A moves again, Camo B loses its ARO.
    <br>Una ranita iba caminando...


    Ps. Sorry my fail.
     
    #3 pakohbadajoz, 12 Oct 2018
    Última edición: 12 Oct 2018
    A Urobros le gusta esto.
  4. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    Wrong FAQ...
     
    A pakohbadajoz le gusta esto.
  5. Shverter

    Shverter New Member

    Registrado:
    26 Jun 2018
    Mensajes:
    13
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2
    FAQ says:
    Q: Is it obligatory to declare that the ARO is delayed when waiting for the second Skill when a troop in Camouflage or Impersonation State is activated?
    A: Yes, it is obligatory.

    So accoring to the information in the original question one needs to specify which ARO he/she is delaying, if we take into consideration the definite article, is it important or not?
     
  6. pakohbadajoz

    pakohbadajoz Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Feb 2018
    Mensajes:
    156
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    67
    +1.

    <br>Una ranita iba caminando...
     
  7. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    No. The definite article in this case is referring to the concept of the ARO as a whole, not to a specific Skill being declared.

    The FAQ is directly related to this:
    • Bear in mind that when reacting to a CH: Camouflage or CH: TO Camouflage Marker, you may delay your ARO declaration until after the Marker declares its second Short Skill.
    And just means that you have to actively say if a trooper is delaying, rather than waiting for the marker to reveal itself and then surprising your opponent with an unexpected ARO.
     
    A Urobros y Gunmage les gusta esto.
  8. Shverter

    Shverter New Member

    Registrado:
    26 Jun 2018
    Mensajes:
    13
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2
    I understand and agree.
    My only question is why "the ARO" and not "an ARO"?
     
  9. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    3.697
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.694
    Because you have just the one?
     
    A inane.imp y ijw les gusta esto.
  10. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    Indeed. A trooper only has one ARO, so that is 'the ARO' that is being delayed.
     
    A inane.imp y chromedog les gusta esto.
  11. Shverter

    Shverter New Member

    Registrado:
    26 Jun 2018
    Mensajes:
    13
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2
    Thank you
     
  12. MindwormGames

    MindwormGames Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    21 Jun 2018
    Mensajes:
    201
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    282
    And just to clarify (not that I can imagine a common situation in which you would do this):

    When you delay your ARO, you are delaying your DECLARATION of an ARO, so you can still choose not to declare an ARO even if the marker reveals itself with its second short skill.

    Is that correct?
     
  13. Alphz

    Alphz Kuang Shi Vet. Retired.

    Registrado:
    25 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.458
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.949
    Yep, do nothing is a valid choice even after delaying.
     
    A chromedog le gusta esto.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation