Dodge movement into mine trigger area?

Tema en '[Archived]: N4 Rules' iniciado por KGG, 25 Jun 2022.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. KGG

    KGG Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    4 Jun 2019
    Mensajes:
    222
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    631
    This came up and we had no idea how to rule it as the wiki and the FAQ seem to say opposing things.

    A reactive trooper performed ZoC dodge to an action they had no LoF to, and passed a normal dodge roll to move out into a mine trigger area.

    The wiki suggests dodge movement doesn’t trigger AROs or deployables, but the v1.2 FAQ seems to say the mine will be activated and will be compared to the dodge roll (at -3 for being a deployable)

    How should we have played it?
     
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.155
    Declaring Dodge while within the trigger area will detonate it, but the movement from a successful Dodge will not
     
    Jumara, chromedog, KGG y otra persona les gusta esto.
  3. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Registrado:
    22 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    4.268
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8.103
    The issue is that if dodge movement triggers mines, you can get into a conflicting state:

    1. The dodge roll is passed, the model can move
    2. The movement enters a mine trigger area, the mine is triggered (NOTE: this is not the rule)
    3. The dodge roll is then compared to PH-3, turning it into a failure
    4. The model retroactively doesn't move
    5. The mine is retroactively not triggered
    6. The dodge roll is now a success again
    7. Return to step 2
     
  4. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    5.750
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.521
    Ye olde N3 quantum mines.
     
  5. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    9 Ago 2018
    Mensajes:
    1.400
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.541
    #5 Diphoration, 25 Jun 2022
    Última edición: 25 Jun 2022
    A Qwerinaga, Abrilete y KGG les gusta esto.
  6. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    9 Ago 2018
    Mensajes:
    1.400
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.541
    Could've also been...

    1. Dodge roll is passed, model can move.
    2. Model moves.
    3. Mine triggers.
    Either interpretations
    4.1. Model cannot Dodge (as it's already passed) and just eats the mine.
    4.2. Compare to the roll they did -3, if it was less, they just eat the mine.

    There move is already complete, no need for any retroactive move, there is nothing that indicates that it would need to retroactively do anything and nothing in the game talks about retroactive actions.

    - - - - -

    But fortunately we have the remember box that makes this not a thing in N4! :)
     
    A KGG le gusta esto.
  7. KGG

    KGG Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    4 Jun 2019
    Mensajes:
    222
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    631
    Thanks for the replies!
    The FAQ seems to say ‘yes’ to this question, but the rules in the wiki don’t really support it. Am I interpreting the FAQ wrong? It seems to say that the movement from dodge does trigger a mine.

    Quote from: https://assets.infinitythegame.net/downloads/faqs/en/v1.2/faqs.pdf

     
  8. Iskandar

    Iskandar Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    14 Sep 2021
    Mensajes:
    164
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    242
    That's from a very old FAQ for a different edition of the game. This is the correct FAQ for N4 which does not have that line - https://downloads.corvusbelli.com/infinity/faq/n4-faq-en-v1-2.pdf
     
    A Qwerinaga y KGG les gusta esto.
  9. KGG

    KGG Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    4 Jun 2019
    Mensajes:
    222
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    631
    @Iskandar
    Oh man! I didn’t spot that. Just saw v1.2.
    Cool that’s pretty definitive then, cheers!
     
  10. KGG

    KGG Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    4 Jun 2019
    Mensajes:
    222
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    631
    Sorry to revive this thread.

    With the 'all at once', if you 'dodge' from total cover into the trigger area of a mine, and then 'move' as the second part of the order, do you eat the mine, or perform the dodge?

    On order sequence, If you 'dodge' for 1st part of the order, do you measure the distance and move as if you pass the dodge? if you then declare 'move' for the 2nd part, do you move starting from the potentially successful 'dodge' location? If the dodge roll is then a fail, where does the model end up, do they still get to do the 'move; part of their order, or does it revert to idle as you cant actually move along the path you specified (due to not moving the 2" dodge)?
     
  11. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    The Move skills moves the model during declaration, the Dodge skill moves the model during Resolution.

    So if you declare Dodge as your first short skill while at point A, you don't move the model. Then if you declare Move as your second short skill, you move the model from point A 4" to point B. Then, in Resolution, if you pass your Dodge roll, you now move the model 2" from point B to point C. It doesn't matter that Dodge was declared before Move, the Move movement still happens before the Dodge movement.

    If the Move movement triggered a mine, then the mine is triggered. Your Dodge roll in Resolution will be at -3. If you fail, you stay at point B and make an armor save. If you pass, you still get to move to point C. Either way, the mine is removed. It's no different than if you Moved for your first short skill, and Dodged for your second.
     
    solkan, Willen, anubis y 3 otros les gusta esto.
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation