DTW from behind vs a model that has SSL2

Tema en '[Archived]: N3 Rules' iniciado por Thaddius, 28 Nov 2017.

  1. Thaddius

    Thaddius Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    25 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    229
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    400
    What are the available responses to a target that has SSL2 being shot from behind by a DTW? Are you able to respond with a BS attack or your own DTW?

    Neither of those will actually result in a FtF roll which is the first bullet point to Sixth Sense. I do remember reading that you could respond with a shot but can’t find the old forum post. Clarification would be good.

    Thanks very much Infinity Community. Lets make these forums a good place to be :)
     
  2. Belgrim

    Belgrim Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    176
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    192
    • Allows the user to respond with a Face to Face Roll to Attacks (and only Attacks)directed at him by an enemy outside his LoF and regardless the facing of the user.
    • When attacked with a template weapon from outside his LoF the user may ignore the -3 MOD to Dodge a template from outside his LoF.
     
  3. Bobman

    Bobman MERC

    Registrado:
    22 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    760
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    556
  4. Valmiir

    Valmiir Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    43
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    22
  5. Bobman

    Bobman MERC

    Registrado:
    22 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    760
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    556
    I guess exactly as Cervantes says. It’s assuming a standard BS attack.
     
  6. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    People are trying to make sense of a poorly-written passage in the rules.
     
    A Valmiir le gusta esto.
  7. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Registrado:
    22 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    4.268
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8.103
    It's also worth noting that the linked comment has a green checkmark, which in the old rules forum was a way that Corvus Belli used to show that it was an officially accepted answer.
     
    A Bobman le gusta esto.
  8. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.708
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.086
    Does this, then, allow you to respond with your own DTW? I would assume, yes, but the question/answer seems to only be about being hit by a DTW.
     
  9. Valmiir

    Valmiir Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    43
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    22
    I'm all for getting official rulings on the forum, but shouldn't his have warranted an entry in the FAQ or the WikiFAQ? I mean, the official ruling seems to be "there is a typo in the rules." Not only that, but as written the rules say something contradictory to the official ruling.

    I'm confused (and a little annoyed) that this can be so casually dismissed.
     
    A Balewolf le gusta esto.
  10. Bobman

    Bobman MERC

    Registrado:
    22 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    760
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    556
    Yes.

    Imo there's a bunch of SS related stuff that could do with going in the FAQ.
     
    A toadchild, Valmiir y Balewolf les gusta esto.
  11. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    The whole Sixth Sense skill needs to be re-written. It wasn't really updated for the shift with smoke templates allowing people to shoot back at -6.
     
  12. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Registrado:
    22 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    4.268
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8.103
    Shooting back through smoke with a -6 has always been there; that's not new in 3rd edition. I know there are a number of minor issues with the wording, but I don't actually see any with respect to that.

    Things I know of:
    • Being targeted by an attack is listed as a requirement for being able to hold your ARO, which would render the ARO-holding unusable in most cases
    • It says "face to face roll" in several places where it should just give you blanket permission to make an ARO
    • It's not very clear which LoF/facing restrictions it is lifting when you are attacked from outside of LoF
     
    A chromedog, Bobman y Balewolf les gusta esto.
  13. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    I agree with your bullet points, but remember when shooting through smoke just meant no retaliation at all? This was N2.
     
  14. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    As ToadChild said, MSV+Smoke in N2 let you shoot back at -6, it's just that you had to survive the missions coming Attack first.
     
  15. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    Oh right, so like how Surprise Shot used to work.
     
  16. C0MR4DE

    C0MR4DE Malfunctioning Unidron

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    116
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    75
    Yes, something like Chasseur.... ssl1 + flame.
    But i dont know why everybody play like that. Easy, if the reqs do not meet, the unit only do change face, or lose the Aro.
    I do not know why they dont refresh this rule, because this is one of the most problematic one.
     
  17. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    Chasseurs are fine in the context of the lists that can run them. I hope CB thinks long and hard before they make another unit with SS and a marker state tho.
     
  18. C0MR4DE

    C0MR4DE Malfunctioning Unidron

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    116
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    75
    So the main problem is:
    A(Chasseur camo marker, in reactive turn) has LoF to enemy camo marker B. B activate and moves into A-s ZoC with a s.m.s.
    These are the options for A according the rules:
    1,delay aro because B is a camo marker
    2, Use special skill ssl 1, because it is optional.
    3, discover
    4, dodge
    5, Change facing

    Options for B:
    1, s.m.s aka move
    2, discover
    3, dodge
    4, use a deployable eq like mine (attack)
    5, Idle
    6, etc special skill

    If A pick delay aro and B do a s.m.s. move, A lose his right to aro.
    If A pick use ssl 1(automatic skill) , it forces him/her to come out of camo because :
    *A trooper's Camouflaged state is canceled, and its Marker replaced by its model, whenever:
    • The Camouflaged trooper declares a Skill other than Cautious Movement or a Short Movement Skill that does not require a Roll (except Alert).
    Automatic Skills Automatic Skills are those that can be employed without expending an Order or ARO. Consequently, these Skills do not require a Roll.

    ++!
    According to the reqs of the SS:
    REQUIREMENTS

    In order to use Sixth Sense L1,

    • An enemy must be inside the user's Zone of Control.
    • That enemy must declare an Attack against the user.
    The attack part is missing, so when the enemy B camo declares move again, A lose his right to use his delayed Aro, because the used skill which allows the delay is invalid.

    BUT in real situation he just flames you in the face which is simply bullshit, and the referees say it is OK.
     
    #18 C0MR4DE, 1 Dic 2017
    Última edición: 1 Dic 2017
  19. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    You declare ARO Skills, Short Skills, Short Movement Skills and Entire Order Skills, ie any actual action you perform during an Order or ARO. You don't declare Automatic Skills because they're not an action taken as part of an Order or ARO, so nothing is revealing the Sixth Sense trooper.

    As far as delaying and the Requirements are concerned, the ability to delay your ARO should have been outside the Skill box as a separate ability. The example* makes it very clear that the reactive trooper doesn't need to be attacked.

    Note that the Chasseur still won't be able to declare anything but Dodge or Discover (or a pointless Change Facing) if the enemy Camo marker doesn't reveal itself with the second Skill.


    *EDIT see http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Sixth_Sense#Example_of_Sixth_Sense_L1_vs_a_rear_attack last paragraph:
    'Had the Alguacil declared a further Movement instead of a BS Attack, the Maakrep Tracker would have been able to declare an ARO against an unseen active enemy inside her Zone of Control (Change Facing).'
     
    A Hecaton le gusta esto.
  20. C0MR4DE

    C0MR4DE Malfunctioning Unidron

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    116
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    75
    What does the rule say:
    • The Camouflaged trooper declares a Skill other than Cautious Movement or a Short Movement Skill that does not require a Roll (except Alert).
    Is ssl a skill? Yes. Do you have to use it? Yes. (The Alguacil is now inside the Tracker's Zone of Control so she uses her Sixth Sense L1 Special Skill to delay her ARO, waiting for the Alguacil to make his move.)
    Other example: Dogged, NWI, Mnemonica: These are optional skills automatic skills too, and i have to declare which one i use, if it is applicable.

    Yes, the other part was my bad, wrong example with the camo marker. The problem is camo A, visible B in zoc of A and have LoF to A, means delayed order and flame in the face.
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation