Lei Gong Crit Success

Tema en 'Rules' iniciado por Jonah, 9 Ene 2020.

  1. Jonah

    Jonah Active Member

    Registrado:
    18 Jul 2019
    Mensajes:
    38
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    31
    So I know we've only just seen the cards for Double Trouble but I'm wondering whether Lei Gong's :8:also adds a :2:as per the AGL rules? The section about Critical Successes states 'One of the possible results on a red die is the Critical Success, represented by the :8: symbol' but Lei Gong isn't rolling a red die. However, later in the same section it states 'At the beginning of the Roll’s Switches Step, each :8: adds one :2: to the total amount of Symbols rolled'. I would interpret this as meaning Lei Gong does get the extra :2:even though his :8:hasn't come from a red die. Is this correct?

    Thanks

    Jonah
     
  2. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.271
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.583
    Lei Gong's :8: is not a different Symbol. It's the same :8: you can obtain rolling a :+:, so AGL3 Rules are applicable to it, of course.
     
    Ealthril, volgo, AdmiralJCJF y 2 otros les gusta esto.
  3. Jonah

    Jonah Active Member

    Registrado:
    18 Jul 2019
    Mensajes:
    38
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    31
    That's what I thought. Thanks for the confirmation :+1:
     
  4. CAnon

    CAnon Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    18 Nov 2018
    Mensajes:
    220
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    239
    It's effectively :2::2:like Shona's Broadsword, but with the added benefit of being able to cancel both successes with one :7:.
     
  5. AdmiralJCJF

    AdmiralJCJF Heart of the Hyperpower

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    3.532
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    4.594
    But the disadvantage that if you don't have a :7: then no number of :1: will prevent you from taking at least one :4:.
     
    A Jonah, Ealthril y CAnon les gusta esto.
  6. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.271
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.583
    Well ─technically─ you don't cancel two :2: with :7:, you cancel the die with the :8: which turns into in :8::2: before Switches Step.
     
  7. CAnon

    CAnon Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    18 Nov 2018
    Mensajes:
    220
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    239
    Yes, but Critical Block takes effect before the Switches step. Unless you are suggesting the Crit Success bonus:2:is applied before/at the same time as Crit Blocks, which is far from implied by the wording and opens up awkward resolution questions.
     
    A AdmiralJCJF le gusta esto.
  8. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.271
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.583
    The bonus is applied at the beginning of Switches Step, after Crit Block Step:
     
    A CAnon le gusta esto.
  9. HarlequinOfDeath

    HarlequinOfDeath Tha Taskmastaaa
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    14 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.130
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.194
    Is it even possible then to cancel the critical success of Lei with a critical block from a die? Since the critical success is just a symbol and not a die.
     
  10. AdmiralJCJF

    AdmiralJCJF Heart of the Hyperpower

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    3.532
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    4.594
    Symbols count as dice for that purpose.
     
  11. Neengash

    Neengash VaudeVille Soul
    Aristeia! Warcor

    Registrado:
    1 Feb 2019
    Mensajes:
    112
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    100
    Yes, it can be blocked, remember that symbols are treated as virtual dice, one for each symbol.
    The same applies to maximus while disengaging, only characters that roll a green dice as :R: have a chance to stop him.
     
    A Croepoek y AdmiralJCJF les gusta esto.
  12. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.271
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.583
    Same way as you can nullify the :8: of Maximus in a Disengage Roll.
    Remember:
    :wink:
     
    A AdmiralJCJF, Croepoek y Ealthril les gusta esto.
  13. JAGS

    JAGS Member

    Registrado:
    28 Abr 2019
    Mensajes:
    32
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    18
    Can "Atom" cancel those Symbols/"additional imaginary dice" ?
     
  14. CAnon

    CAnon Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    18 Nov 2018
    Mensajes:
    220
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    239
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation