1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Lei Gong Crit Success

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Jonah, Jan 9, 2020.

  1. Jonah

    Jonah Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    10
    So I know we've only just seen the cards for Double Trouble but I'm wondering whether Lei Gong's :8:also adds a :2:as per the AGL rules? The section about Critical Successes states 'One of the possible results on a red die is the Critical Success, represented by the :8: symbol' but Lei Gong isn't rolling a red die. However, later in the same section it states 'At the beginning of the Roll’s Switches Step, each :8: adds one :2: to the total amount of Symbols rolled'. I would interpret this as meaning Lei Gong does get the extra :2:even though his :8:hasn't come from a red die. Is this correct?

    Thanks

    Jonah
     
  2. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    2,113
    Lei Gong's :8: is not a different Symbol. It's the same :8: you can obtain rolling a :+:, so AGL3 Rules are applicable to it, of course.
     
    Ealthril, volgo, AdmiralJCJF and 2 others like this.
  3. Jonah

    Jonah Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    10
    That's what I thought. Thanks for the confirmation :+1:
     
  4. CAnon

    CAnon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    64
    It's effectively :2::2:like Shona's Broadsword, but with the added benefit of being able to cancel both successes with one :7:.
     
  5. AdmiralJCJF

    AdmiralJCJF Heart of the Hyperpower
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,043
    Likes Received:
    4,028
    But the disadvantage that if you don't have a :7: then no number of :1: will prevent you from taking at least one :4:.
     
    Ealthril and CAnon like this.
  6. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    2,113
    Well ─technically─ you don't cancel two :2: with :7:, you cancel the die with the :8: which turns into in :8::2: before Switches Step.
     
  7. CAnon

    CAnon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    64
    Yes, but Critical Block takes effect before the Switches step. Unless you are suggesting the Crit Success bonus:2:is applied before/at the same time as Crit Blocks, which is far from implied by the wording and opens up awkward resolution questions.
     
    AdmiralJCJF likes this.
  8. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    2,113
    The bonus is applied at the beginning of Switches Step, after Crit Block Step:
     
    CAnon likes this.
  9. HarlequinOfDeath

    HarlequinOfDeath Tha Taskmastaaa
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    665
    Is it even possible then to cancel the critical success of Lei with a critical block from a die? Since the critical success is just a symbol and not a die.
     
  10. AdmiralJCJF

    AdmiralJCJF Heart of the Hyperpower
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,043
    Likes Received:
    4,028
    Symbols count as dice for that purpose.
     
  11. Neengash

    Neengash VaudeVille Soul
    Warcor Aristeia

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yes, it can be blocked, remember that symbols are treated as virtual dice, one for each symbol.
    The same applies to maximus while disengaging, only characters that roll a green dice as :R: have a chance to stop him.
     
    Croepoek and AdmiralJCJF like this.
  12. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    2,113
    Same way as you can nullify the :8: of Maximus in a Disengage Roll.
    Remember:
    :wink:
     
    AdmiralJCJF, Croepoek and Ealthril like this.