Dazzled state and switch

Tema en 'Rules' iniciado por krotos, 22 Nov 2018.

Etiquetas:
  1. krotos

    krotos Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Sep 2018
    Mensajes:
    123
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    84
    I had a situation when Eclipse makes Combat Roll and she use a switch to Dazzle defender. As active player Eclipse's owner decide to activate his switches first. Defender's successes still can do damage to attacker? I think yes, because rolls happens simultaneously. It's like situation with Smokes, yes?
     
  2. Spellbreaker90

    Spellbreaker90 Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    18 Jul 2018
    Mensajes:
    186
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    145
    I think it's the same situation where you attack and with a switch displace yourself out of enemy LoS.

    LoS is checked at attack declaration so enemy can still damage you.
     
    A Flipswitch y Roadrunner7431 les gusta esto.
  3. treiral

    treiral Midnight poster

    Registrado:
    17 May 2018
    Mensajes:
    252
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    171
    Arguably. Notice that the :S:Dazzled state specifically states that you can't use :2: in a :W: defense roll to :4: an enemy beyond :L:1-1. So it isn't exactly the same situation as a loss of LoS due to displacements/smoke, in this case there is a state specifically telling you that you can't do it.
     
    A krotos le gusta esto.
  4. Roadrunner7431

    Roadrunner7431 Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    465
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    354
    My card from S&M which explains Smoke also states that Targets inside a space with a Smoke token cannot use their :W: Defense rolls :2: to inflict :4: to Attackers outside Range :L:1-1. This came up in a recent game when Bixie, who ignores Smoke, used her Attack "Celestial Wind"
     
    A treiral le gusta esto.
  5. Plebian

    Plebian Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    313
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    582
    I
    Would say no damage is done, because when you reach the damage step the character is dazzled.
     
  6. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.271
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.583
    We're currently preparing next FAQs and this is one of them. Due to this question, we're writing new errata for those States. The point is to maintain the conditions of the Attack/Action declaration 'till the end.

    The text in Dazzled and Smoke about Defender not being able to use their :2: in return was intended as a reminder of the general rule, but not an additional Effect from the State/Smoke, so it will be erased.

    We're publishing these FAQs next week.
     
    Flipswitch, krotos, treiral y 3 otros les gusta esto.
  7. treiral

    treiral Midnight poster

    Registrado:
    17 May 2018
    Mensajes:
    252
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    171
    Thank you! I agree that as part of the effect it was pretty nuts. It basically created a dome of range 2-5 around Kozmo where nobody could hurt it. It was certainly interesting finding out how to play around that. May I suggest to keep the text in one of those "Reminder" boxes instead of getting rid of it altogether?
     
  8. krotos

    krotos Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Sep 2018
    Mensajes:
    123
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    84
    Vi,
    thank you!
    also want to clarify one question, if hexxer tries to brawl somebody and lose, but she got switch, if she displace herself, opponent will roll agility dice again?
     
  9. tartopom

    tartopom Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    9 Oct 2018
    Mensajes:
    80
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    54
    I'd say Yes because for the next movement spent by disengaging char, it will still be leaving a space that is adjacent to HeXx3r.
     
    A treiral le gusta esto.
  10. Roadrunner7431

    Roadrunner7431 Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    465
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    354
    I would say that if the character wants to disengage and gets a :2: which is not blocked by :1: then that character must move a space. If the only space available is adjacent to an enemy and the character wants to continue to spend movement points then yes it would need to roll for disengage again.
     
    A tartopom y treiral les gusta esto.
  11. Plebian

    Plebian Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    313
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    582
    @-V- I didn't see anything about this in the errata?
     
    #11 Plebian, 7 Dic 2018
    Última edición: 8 Dic 2018
  12. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.271
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.583
    We're about to publish new FAQs and Errata. Please, hold on!

    :wink:
     
    A volgo y Flipswitch les gusta esto.
  13. eronth

    eronth Active Member

    Registrado:
    29 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    51
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    41
    A player does not need to declare where they are moving when making an agility check. So if hexxer displaces herself, you can just opt to move somewhere not near her. If you do move a character next to hexxer again, then yes attempting to move near her a second time will require another agility roll.
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation