Cover or no cover

Tema en 'Rules' iniciado por Gigolo Jo, 5 Oct 2018.

  1. Gigolo Jo

    Gigolo Jo New Member

    Registrado:
    28 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    4
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3
    Imagine the dice are characters. If the orange character shoots at the yellow one, is the yellow character in cover or not? IMG-20181005-WA0000.jpeg

    Gesendet von meinem SM-J330F mit Tapatalk
     
  2. Miller66

    Miller66 New Member

    Registrado:
    23 Ago 2018
    Mensajes:
    14
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    0
  3. Plebian

    Plebian Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    313
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    582
    Incorrect. The blue Character occupies a space that obstructs.
     
    A WarHound y Pierzasty les gusta esto.
  4. Miller66

    Miller66 New Member

    Registrado:
    23 Ago 2018
    Mensajes:
    14
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    0
    I can see your point. But the rules say THE line of sight, not ALL line of sight. Blu space is totally hidden to Orange: how can something that I can't see offer some cover to my enemy?
     
  5. treiral

    treiral Midnight poster

    Registrado:
    17 May 2018
    Mensajes:
    252
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    171
    I agree with Miller66 that :.: is exposed here, since his cover (:-:) isn't actually obstructing any LoS.
     
  6. Zewrath

    Zewrath Elitist Jerk

    Registrado:
    28 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.000
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.484
    He has cover. Characters themselves are occupied spaces. :.: Meets all requirements for cover.
     
  7. Egape

    Egape Former KWEN

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    42
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    23
    In the How to Play pdf, the example shows Wild Bill gaining cover from 8-ball..
     
  8. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    3.695
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.691
    upload_2018-10-25_17-32-35.png
    This line is obstructed.

    Is :.: adjacent to an Occupied space? Yes
    Does :,: have LoS to ALL of :.: vetrex? Nope

    So :.: has cover (and so does :,:, FWIW)
     
    A WarHound le gusta esto.
  9. treiral

    treiral Midnight poster

    Registrado:
    17 May 2018
    Mensajes:
    252
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    171
    So you are just going to ignore the part of the rule that says:
    The one obstructing LoS is the Blocked space in front of :,:, and :.: isn't adjacent to it.
     
  10. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    3.695
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.691
    Does the line cross the occupied space adjacent to the target? This is the requisite for cover.
     
    A ijw le gusta esto.
  11. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    And the Occupied Space (:-:) that :.: is directly adjacent to...
     
    A WarHound le gusta esto.
  12. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.271
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.583
    This is correct. :.: is in Cover to :,: (and so :,: to :.:).
     
    A tartopom le gusta esto.
  13. Darthich

    Darthich Well-Known Member
    Aristeia! Warcor

    Registrado:
    10 Nov 2018
    Mensajes:
    50
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    48
    But the line you draw isn't even reaching the Blu line... It crosses a point of a completely blocked hex... The line of sight is on the left side of the yellow die and THIS line of sight is NOT obstructed from the blue die... So in my eyes yellow don't get any cover, just orange gets it. Am I wrong?

    Gesendet von meinem ONEPLUS A3003 mit Tapatalk
     
  14. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    3.695
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.691
    Did you see that -V- confirmed just above your post?

    To be in cover you need to:
    1) Be adjacent to an OCCUPIED space (blocked or containing a character)
    2) LoS need to be NOT clear (the enemy CANNOT see ALL of the vertexes of your space)
     
    A Roadrunner7431 le gusta esto.
  15. Darthich

    Darthich Well-Known Member
    Aristeia! Warcor

    Registrado:
    10 Nov 2018
    Mensajes:
    50
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    48
    Yes I read that but it confuses me... The rule says: if they are Adjacent to a Blocked or Occupied space that is partially obstructing the Enemy's Line of Sight... Not that it is enough to be adjacent to ANY occupied space.. And the line of sight from orange is NOT obstructed by blue... Just because if the blocked space directly in front of him... And yellow is NOT adjacent to this blocked space... I just want to understand how this works :)

    Gesendet von meinem ONEPLUS A3003 mit Tapatalk
     
  16. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    I don't understand, is blue not in the way? That LoF is blocked by the pillar as well doesn't matter.
     
    A Darthich le gusta esto.
  17. Darthich

    Darthich Well-Known Member
    Aristeia! Warcor

    Registrado:
    10 Nov 2018
    Mensajes:
    50
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    48
    Yes you are right! I just clarified this with my mates of my local meta. I assumed that the line of sight ends at the pillar but this is wrong! Rereading the line of sight section says that the LoS ends at the target and not before... Therefore B is obstructing the LoS from O and Y is in cover... My fault [emoji85]

    Gesendet von meinem ONEPLUS A3003 mit Tapatalk
     
    A ijw le gusta esto.
  18. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    Keine panic!
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation