1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Cover or no cover

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Gigolo Jo, Oct 5, 2018.

  1. Gigolo Jo

    Gigolo Jo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    Imagine the dice are characters. If the orange character shoots at the yellow one, is the yellow character in cover or not? IMG-20181005-WA0000.jpeg

    Gesendet von meinem SM-J330F mit Tapatalk
     
  2. Miller66

    Miller66 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Plebian

    Plebian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    581
    Incorrect. The blue Character occupies a space that obstructs.
     
    WarHound and Pierzasty like this.
  4. Miller66

    Miller66 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can see your point. But the rules say THE line of sight, not ALL line of sight. Blu space is totally hidden to Orange: how can something that I can't see offer some cover to my enemy?
     
  5. treiral

    treiral Midnight poster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    169
    I agree with Miller66 that :.: is exposed here, since his cover (:-:) isn't actually obstructing any LoS.
     
  6. Zewrath

    Zewrath Nordic Master

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    1,835
    He has cover. Characters themselves are occupied spaces. :.: Meets all requirements for cover.
     
  7. Egape

    Egape Former KWEN

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    23
    In the How to Play pdf, the example shows Wild Bill gaining cover from 8-ball..
     
  8. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    1,636
    upload_2018-10-25_17-32-35.png
    This line is obstructed.

    Is :.: adjacent to an Occupied space? Yes
    Does :,: have LoS to ALL of :.: vetrex? Nope

    So :.: has cover (and so does :,:, FWIW)
     
    WarHound likes this.
  9. treiral

    treiral Midnight poster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    169
    So you are just going to ignore the part of the rule that says:
    The one obstructing LoS is the Blocked space in front of :,:, and :.: isn't adjacent to it.
     
  10. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    1,636
    Does the line cross the occupied space adjacent to the target? This is the requisite for cover.
     
    ijw likes this.
  11. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,143
    Likes Received:
    10,450
    And the Occupied Space (:-:) that :.: is directly adjacent to...
     
    WarHound likes this.
  12. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    1,972
    This is correct. :.: is in Cover to :,: (and so :,: to :.:).
     
    tartopom likes this.
  13. Darthich

    Darthich Active Member
    Warcor Aristeia

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    28
    But the line you draw isn't even reaching the Blu line... It crosses a point of a completely blocked hex... The line of sight is on the left side of the yellow die and THIS line of sight is NOT obstructed from the blue die... So in my eyes yellow don't get any cover, just orange gets it. Am I wrong?

    Gesendet von meinem ONEPLUS A3003 mit Tapatalk
     
  14. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    1,636
    Did you see that -V- confirmed just above your post?

    To be in cover you need to:
    1) Be adjacent to an OCCUPIED space (blocked or containing a character)
    2) LoS need to be NOT clear (the enemy CANNOT see ALL of the vertexes of your space)
     
    Roadrunner7431 likes this.
  15. Darthich

    Darthich Active Member
    Warcor Aristeia

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    28
    Yes I read that but it confuses me... The rule says: if they are Adjacent to a Blocked or Occupied space that is partially obstructing the Enemy's Line of Sight... Not that it is enough to be adjacent to ANY occupied space.. And the line of sight from orange is NOT obstructed by blue... Just because if the blocked space directly in front of him... And yellow is NOT adjacent to this blocked space... I just want to understand how this works :)

    Gesendet von meinem ONEPLUS A3003 mit Tapatalk
     
  16. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,143
    Likes Received:
    10,450
    I don't understand, is blue not in the way? That LoF is blocked by the pillar as well doesn't matter.
     
    Darthich likes this.
  17. Darthich

    Darthich Active Member
    Warcor Aristeia

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    28
    Yes you are right! I just clarified this with my mates of my local meta. I assumed that the line of sight ends at the pillar but this is wrong! Rereading the line of sight section says that the LoS ends at the target and not before... Therefore B is obstructing the LoS from O and Y is in cover... My fault

    Gesendet von meinem ONEPLUS A3003 mit Tapatalk
     
    ijw likes this.
  18. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,143
    Likes Received:
    10,450
    Keine panic!