1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Deus Vult!

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Miller66, Aug 23, 2018.

1. Miller66

Miller66 New Member

Can Mendoza perform "Deus Vult!" if there is no enemy adjacent to him? With 3 Yellow Dice would be a nice spam helaing

upload_2018-8-23_12-1-45.png

2. zlavin

zlavin Well-Known Member

3. Miller66

Miller66 New Member

ok. So of there is no Obstacles, Allies or Enemies adjacent to him, Mendoza can't perform Deus Vult! Right?

4. zlavin

zlavin Well-Known Member

Correct.

natetehaggresar likes this.
  5. natetehaggresar

natetehaggresar Senior Backlogged Painter Manager

Just curious, why?

The cited wiki says MOST actions require targets, not ALL.

The text of the ability only seems to use target for the extra switches?

I'm not an expert by any means, but I don't understand how you arrived at your conclusion.

6. zlavin

zlavin Well-Known Member

https://aristeiathegame.com/wiki/article/5-actions

You first check the requeriments. So does not matter that you can not apply the effect of said Action to the Target you have already declared it and you meet all the requiriments. You can declare it and use the roll for switches but you can not apply the effect.

Gata can target a Barrier whit her Misdirection even if the Barrier cannot be Dazzled :S:

Hexxer can use Vade Retro againts an enemy Valkyrie but can not apply the effect becouse Valkyrie is inmune to displaces.

7. natetehaggresar

Thats just it.

Misdirection says "impose the dazzled on the target". Similarly free run says "spend one movement point and place yourself in any free space adjacent to the target."

Deus vult has no target language, except for the switches. I don't understand why having a target is a requirement?

8. zlavin

zlavin Well-Known Member