Guts Roll off a Reset

Tema en '[Archived]: N3 Rules' iniciado por Valmiir, 15 Jul 2018.

Etiquetas:
  1. Valmiir

    Valmiir Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    43
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    22
    This came up in a recent tournament. Under the Effects of the Reset it says:
    • If the user wins the Face to Face WIP Roll, he may apply the Guts Roll rules.
    I found this rather strange since you typically only make Guts Rolls if you lose a F2F. However, if you then go to Requirements under Guts Roll it says:
    If you win the F2F with Reset then you certainly aren't making any ARM or BTS rolls and the first two requirements won't be met, but it does seem like there is a possibility to satisfy the third bullet point. Spotlight, for example, does not provoke ARM or BTS rolls and would seem to satisfy the third bullet point.

    Does anyone know if this is the intention, a typo, or just CB being bad at words?
     
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    If you win the reset, then your opponent's attack, hacking program or non-lethal attack isn't successful.
     
    A Valmiir le gusta esto.
  3. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    Sure. But it's weird that it's there.

    I'm certainly with @valmir in that it's plausibly suggesting that even if you win a FTF Reset you can make a Guts Rolls despite the fact none of the regular requirements for doing so are met. This changes some significant gameplay around Hacking.
     
    A Valmiir le gusta esto.
  4. Valmiir

    Valmiir Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    43
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    22
    Good point. In that case, what part of the Guts Roll rule does Reset let you use?

    I'm quite puzzled on the intent here.
     
  5. Nemo No Name

    Nemo No Name Aleph Cultural Atache

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.179
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.846
    What?!

    If you win Face-to-face using a Reset, the attack was not successful. Hence, you cannot use the third bullet point. The third bullet point is there to allow you Guts rolls in case somebody manages to Spotlight you.
     
  6. Valmiir

    Valmiir Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    43
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    22
    Indeed, this is what @Mahtamori already said. My question is: what is the point of the above cited bullet point in Reset?
     
    A inane.imp le gusta esto.
  7. Nemo No Name

    Nemo No Name Aleph Cultural Atache

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.179
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.846
    Aah, sorry. Now I get your question.

    Yeah, I'm not sure but I guess it is just a mistake and should be "fails".
     
    A Valmiir le gusta esto.
  8. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Registrado:
    5 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    884
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.292
    Let's say a Mutt just moved into your ZoC. On the next Order, he declares an Intuitive Attack with Jammer. If you declare a Reset to make it a Face to Face roll, and win the Face to Face, you can then use Guts rules to try and exit the "danger zone" which would be being within ZoC of the Jammer. It's an extra trigger for Guts added on to Reset specifically, I'm not sure why you would assume that it is somehow not only a mistake but also then redundant language.
     
  9. Valmiir

    Valmiir Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    43
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    22
    But none of the requirements for Guts Roll are met. Are you saying that Reset is giving your exceptional permission to use the Effects of Guts Roll in this case? If so, then this applies to every successful reset, which is what I'm having a hard time getting on board with.
     
  10. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Registrado:
    5 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    884
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.292
    It's either that or you assume the text is both wrong AND completely redundant, with no basis for doing so.
     
  11. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Registrado:
    22 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    4.268
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8.103
    Think of it as the comms attack equivalent of the 2" move you get to make when you dodge. (Except not quite as good)
     
  12. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    Except it's not the first time we've seen that (CC trait on stealth springs to mind).

    OTOH it's interesting and useful.

    It's also only relevant if you're inside 2" of the edge of the Danger Zone (which admittedly is often the case).
     
  13. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    19 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.336
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.985
    This isn’t the only case of “exceptional permission” in the rules. For instance, the requirement for Dodge (in the Dodge rules box) is:
    “The user must be able to draw LoF to the attacker.”
    How many exceptions to that requirement do I need to list? They start with template weapons and sixth sense.

    And I think most of the time a GUTS move granted by a Reset is going to be useless, since it’s usually going to fall under the “danger area” section of GUTS.
     
    A Valmiir le gusta esto.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation