Zondnautica and AI Motorcyle rules clarification.

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by yuefei, Apr 20, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yuefei

    yuefei Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hey guys, coming back to the game after a LONG break. I have the following questions/comments about how the AI Motorcyle, specifically Zondnautica works. Just making sure I'm reading the rules correctly here...

    Dismount/mount rules say it must happen at "the start of the order" - technically there's no start of order step, but I assume this means it must be the first thing that happens as part of the first Movement Short Skill/Entire Order. Which means:

    - You can't Mount/Dismount as part of your 2nd Short Movement Skill, because that's not at "the start of the order", although you can as part of an Entire Movement Order, such as Cautious Move, for example.

    - You can Dismount and move. (see question below...)

    - If Dismounted, you can't move then Mount, because the Mount has to be at "the start of the order... before measuring any movement".
    - This basically means if Dismounted, both models must be in Silhouette contact before the trooper is activated if you want the rider to Mount back on the Motorcycle.

    Question: if a Zondnautica dismounts as a First Movement Short Skill, can both the Zondnaut (rider) and the Zondmate then move? So you'd replace the Motorcycle model with the Zondmate model, then put the Zondnaut in Silhouette contact with it. Then both models get to move their first movement value, correct?

    Then, whether the Zondmate got to move or not, since they're Synched, they both get a second Short Skill, such as BS attack?
     
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    9,340
    Likes Received:
    17,153
    The rules say:
    "The Trooper must mount or dismount at the start of the Order, after having declared the first Short Skill of the Order, or the Entire Order, but before measuring any movement."
    (emphasis mine)

    So you would Declare Move with the Zondnautica as your first Short Skill/Entire Order Skill, then decide to dismount placing the Zond mate and Zondnaught on the table. You would then measure and move both as they are Synchronised.

    This also means you cannot dismount as an ARO

    You are correct that the Zondmate and Zondnaught must be in silhouette contact at the start of the Order if they want to Mount.
     
    Ugin, solkan and yuefei like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation