zoc hacking / TAG pilot

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by Azaries, Mar 28, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Azaries

    Azaries Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    21
    A question came up during a recent game about a tag ejecting a pilot while inside ZOC of a hacking unit. The question being, wouldn't activating the tag trigger an ARO? Would these actions happens at the same time as the pilot ejecting? Let's say Carbonite lands would this prevent the pilot from ejecting or would the ARO simply be invalid? What about spotlight? Would this only impact the pilot or would this hit the tag and pilot?

    Thanks in advance,
     
  2. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,685
    Likes Received:
    3,683
    Dismount DOES NOT activate the TAG but the Pilot.
    Mount DOES NOT activate the Pilot but the TAG.

    This should clear your doubt...
     
    Willen, Azaries and colbrook like this.
  3. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    9,340
    Likes Received:
    17,154
    From the rules for Mounting/Dismounting:

    - The new Troop Profile (Mounted/Dismounted) is applied for the entire Order Sequence, while the original profile will not be considered.

    As it is the pilot profile that is Activated you can only target the Pilot with AROs, the only way to affect the TAG would be targeting the pilot with a template weapon that also hits it.

    If the TAG has an ejection system (Anaconda/Iguana) the Operator will not be ejected into the Effects step at the end of an order, so won't be a valid target for any AROs or Attacks declared during the order.
     
    Azaries likes this.
  4. Azaries

    Azaries Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thank you, I appreciate the response. How would spotlight work if the pilot were to enter the tag? For instance leaves tag, is hit with spotlight, goes back into tag. Would the tag then carry the spotlight or would this only impact the pilot?
     
  5. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    9,340
    Likes Received:
    17,154
    From the Pilot rules:

    - When Dismounting from a TAG or Vehicle, any Game States that the TAG or Vehicle was in will also be applied to the Pilot (if applicable), with the exception of Unconscious. (See FAQs & Errata. There are exceptions for Possessed State.)

    - When Mounting a TAG or Vehicle, the TAG or Vehicle Profile will apply all Game States that the TAG was in and all Game States the Pilot was in (if applicable) .
     
    Azaries likes this.
  6. Azaries

    Azaries Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    21
    Awesome, thanks again.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation