Yet another CC + Climb rule

Discussion in '[Archived]: N3 Rules' started by yuefei, Feb 19, 2018.

  1. yuefei

    yuefei Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    6
    Since B2B contact is volumetric, if the cylinders touch then both models get to attack each other in CC correct (assuming order is spent + ARO, etc.)?

    Engage is possible as long as the reacting model has enough movement to get it's cylinder in contact with the enemy's cylinder even if the enemy is on a vertical surface, correct?
     
  2. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,686
    Likes Received:
    5,510
    Yes,

    Its in the FAQ, any contact of sillie volume is B2B.

    Though Beware engaging units on walls, if you dont have CC+ you can be placed such that you are stuck on the wall and cannot respond to CC attacks, or any attacks actually as you are "Climbing"
     
  3. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    630
    I still disagree that it is legal to put a model perpendicular to ur base and stick him on the wall. There is no rule or example that indicates its legal.

    If it is legal, how is engaging 1.25 inches vertically and take a dam 10 falling roll not? The engagers base touching the top point of the active models silhouette.
     
  4. Barrogh

    Barrogh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    Sorry?

    I'm pretty sure this is not how moving along walls work.

    Falling is a part of jumping rules. Thus, you cannot place a model in a position that trigger falling by any means short of using Jump.
     
  5. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,686
    Likes Received:
    5,510
    Disagree all you want its perfectly legal and is b2b
     
  6. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,686
    Likes Received:
    5,510
    When moving along a wall your sillie moves such as the bottom of your base maintaints contact with the surface at all times.

    The only exception is vaulting where you do not tilt the sillie
     
    #6 daboarder, Feb 19, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2018
  7. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,686
    Likes Received:
    5,510
    Because you dont have a valid movement path that gets you there without declaring climb.

    In the other situation the only requisite is being placed in b2b
     
  8. Barrogh

    Barrogh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    If you mean "perpendicular", then I'm pretty sure it's just a single grandfathered pic suggesting that, with other illustrations and text in the rulebook not supporting this idea.

    Also, editing and multi-quoting is a thing.
     
  9. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,686
    Likes Received:
    5,510
    You are arguing that the images of a base moving up a wall in the rulebook is not clear about how a miniature moves up a wall....

    Thats not really a defensible stance
     
  10. Barrogh

    Barrogh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    Pretty sure the only image showing that is the one in the section about ladders, with every other picture in the rulebook showing the opposite.
     
  11. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,686
    Likes Received:
    5,510
    The other pictures dont show your sillie during the movement along the vertical path only at the terminal points. The language about climbing also supports the actual image you are refering to.

    Images and examples are as much the rules as the text in the skill boxes
     
  12. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,686
    Likes Received:
    5,510
  13. Barrogh

    Barrogh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    I would rather say it says exactly nothing on the matter so it doesn't contradict the image at most.

    Yes, and this image is isolated in "Stairs and ladders" box.

    These two facts combined allow people to argue that the image is only applied to ladders, to which is a specific instruction, whereas otherwise rules never mention legality of rotating models, only that you move them along surfaces.
     
  14. Gunmage

    Gunmage General Contact Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    363
    @Barrogh - http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Climb
    This is from the Climb skill prerequisites, bold text is bolded in original, same as it is in Move skill description. So unless you want to argue the model's base can be perpendicular to the ground while using Move, I'd say that's as clear as it gets.
     
    inane.imp and Barrogh like this.
  15. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,750
    Likes Received:
    6,521
    Do you want nobody to play games with you? Because that's how you get nobody to play games with you.
     
    ShadowDrake777 likes this.
  16. Barrogh

    Barrogh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    By referencing a pretty clear RAW on the matter?

    For the record, you can always agree to houserule that in advance. This is not a forum section about houserules though, at least for the most part.
     
    Andre82 and daboarder like this.
  17. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,750
    Likes Received:
    6,521
    By being dumb enough to try and pull that in a game. That's a pretty easy way to turn into the guy that everyone declines to play games with.
     
    n21lv likes this.
  18. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    But we're not playing a game, we're discussing rules. Acting like a sarcastic fool is a pretty easy way to turn into the guy that everyone declines to discuss rules with.

    TBH though I only place Engaging models in Base to Base not Sil to Sil (although if the edge case came up where I had no other choice I'd place them Sil to Sil on a horizontal surface); which I think is a reasonable reading of RAI.

    I prefer to read the rules as follows: the Engaged state, Doctor, Engineer, etc mean Sil to Sil rather than 'Base to Base' and Engage (the ARO) actually means Base to Base when it says Base to Base. It means this tactic is still an option for C+ troops, but not otherwise. That seems fair.
     
    Barrogh likes this.
  19. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,750
    Likes Received:
    6,521
    The point is the rule is effectively a dud. Anybody with any presence of sanity doesn't play it as written not just because it clearly wasn't the intent of the Engage rule, but because they turn into the jerk nobody wants to play with or worse just drive new players away. There are rule interactions that need discussing, this isn't one of them.

    There's no point discussing it. You file it under one of the various things that needs to be rewritten because you'll never use it and get on with the game.
     
  20. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    Then don't discuss it.

    -----

    So, why can you place a model without C+ on a wall as part of an Engage at all?

    I know this is the consensus BUT an Engaging trooper follows the General Movement Rules of the Move common skill.

    Unless you have C+ the Move common skill does not allow you to move onto a vertical piece of terrain.

    There is only one explicit exception to the Move Common Skill that is provided for (that I can find):
    • Troopers cannot Move through spaces narrower than their base.
    The FAQ specifically allows, with regards to Narrow Access: Both figures will end their movements inside the room, ignoring the Narrow Access.

    The only way the rule actually makes sense is that the owning player of the Engaging model delcares the path (which complies with the General Movement Rules of the Move common skill)*, and then their opponent chooses where to place the miniature in B2B.

    * Practically this is usually treated like a teleport, but if you read the rule it actually is a path. What's important is that the opponent only gets to choose where around their model to place the miniature: the path to get there must be legal (with the only allowed exception being Narrow Access).
     
    #20 inane.imp, Feb 19, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2018
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation