1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Xenotech

Discussion in 'ITS' started by Arkhos94, Sep 3, 2018.

  1. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    1,027
    A few question regarding Xenotech (feel free to add yours) :
    • When the xenotech use "PLACE MULTISCANNER", who does the WIP roll ? The xenotech or the trooper ? If the xenotech, what is his WIP ?
    • What happen if the xenotech is deployed with someone with a deployement skill (advanced deployment, infiltration...) ?
    • What is the Xenotech move value ?
    • If I understand correctly, all you to do to place the multiscanner is to be 4" away from your deployment zone. So 2 move are necessary (as with one move, your base is still within 4") ?

     
    inane.imp, Hecaton and TaHu like this.
  2. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    4,883
    Likes Received:
    9,931
    The Xenotech is a Neutral Civilian, so MOV4-4, WIP11 and has no Deployment Skills to let it start outside the Deployment Zone.

    As per the G:Synchronized rules, the Synchronized trooper (the Xenotech) is the one declaring, performing and rolling.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  3. eciu

    eciu Easter worshiper

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    3,965
    Oh yea, it will be fun for 10 orders lists to pass this WIP11 roll ^^
     
  4. coleslaw

    coleslaw Veteran
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    260
    At least, if you have the right specialist on the table you may add +3 to his WIP
     
  5. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    4,883
    Likes Received:
    9,931
    WIP14 in almost all cases, unless someone's hunted down your Specialists.
     
  6. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,155
    Likes Received:
    3,990
    Still adds a lot of rng that favors high-order lists.
     
    theradrussian and meikyoushisui like this.
  7. eciu

    eciu Easter worshiper

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    3,965
    Ekhm, where it is written anything about +3 WIP to xenotech "place scanner" thingy ? (I really can't find anything about it ;/ )
     
  8. Solar

    Solar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    4,020
    WIP 14 for objectives? PanO players, welcome to the Big Boys Table!
     
    Flipswitch and Zsolt like this.
  9. eciu

    eciu Easter worshiper

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    3,965
    Ok found it. Was quite a bit well hidden.

    Yay for PanO AVA1 Machinist <trumpets> ^^
     
    theradrussian likes this.
  10. Hachiman Taro

    Hachiman Taro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    726
    Does the Xenotech provoke AROs when activated?

    Oh god please say no.

    Otherwise Xenotech outside smoke provokes ARO sync'd to MSV2 trooper inside smoke. Enemy AROs to Xenotech. MSV2 trooper shoots enemy on normal rolls....
     
    Joametz and Zsolt like this.
  11. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    4,212
    It's a Neutral Trooper. The AROs that can be provoked by a neutral Trooper are few (White Noise is the only one I'm certain of).

    Dodge is plausible: but I'd argue that Neutral Troopers are not "attackers".
     
  12. Hachiman Taro

    Hachiman Taro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    726
    Yeah I get that Neutral trooper is probably meant to mean they don't provoke AROs. But I don't think it's clear and I'd like it confirmed, cause seems a bit broken if not.
     
  13. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    4,212
    It's not that they don't provoke AROs. It's that most AROs aren't valid against them so aren't provoked.

    It's much the same as walking a LI (without Comms Equipment) into a Repeater's ZOC. The LI provokes an ARO check, but only White Noise is valid so AHDs don't have a valid ARO and so don't count as having 'used' their ARO at that point.
     
  14. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    4,879
    Dodge is valid, and therefore this can be used to abuse anything with Smoke+MSV2
     
    coleslaw, Mask, Zsolt and 4 others like this.
  15. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    4,212
    Why is Dodge valid? Neutral Troopers can't be 'attackers'.
     
    SirGrumpyPants likes this.
  16. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    4,879
    Good point
     
  17. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,155
    Likes Received:
    3,990
    I dunno, you can dodge vs people who haven't attacked you yet so that can't be right.
     
    coleslaw and Mask like this.
  18. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    4,212
    Sure but at least plausibly Hostiles can be attackers.

    It's not clear either way: and it's not played RAW. Given that, why not go with the interpretation that has the least issues?

    "The user must be able to draw LoF to the attacker a Hostile".
     
    SirGrumpyPants likes this.
  19. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,155
    Likes Received:
    3,990
    @inane.imp

    I believe neutral civilians can make attacks while synched, only cc attacks afaik.
     
    Mask likes this.
  20. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    4,212
    How?

    By definition they can't:

    "Neutral. Civilians or game elements that do not belong to the Army Lists of either the player or the opponent, which are not a threat to them and are not capable of declaring Attacks."