1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

"Whirlwind" VS "Saved by the bell"

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Kilroy, Jan 13, 2020 at 1:04 AM.

  1. Kilroy

    Kilroy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    9
    Had this wierd situation tonight.
    Shona uses "Whirlwind" and among those involved is Axl.
    Axl answers with the tactic card "Saved by the bell".

    Whirlwind says: Inflict 1:4:to each enemy within range :L:1-2.
    Saved by the bell says: this card can be played during the declaration of an action in which Axl Steel is the target.

    Is Axl considered a target in an action that afflicts more than a character? Can he use Saved by the bell to ignore the effects of Whirlwind? If he can, will the other possible characters in :L: 1-2 suffer the effects and take the 1:4: or will the Whirlwind action be cancelled for everyone?
    Thanks
     
  2. AdmiralJCJF

    AdmiralJCJF Heart of the Hyperpower
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,043
    Likes Received:
    4,028
    It is explicitly an Action.

    Thus it can be entirely prevented by "Saved by the Bell".

    No effect of any kind.
     
  3. Kelthret

    Kelthret Usuario

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    261
    I'm not sure Whirlwind needs a target to be used. I doesn't have range or vision requirements.
    If the action doesn't need a target, Axel couldn't use Saved by the bell since he isn't being targeted.
    If it indeeds needs a target, i'd say you could use the card if Axel was the main target of the action, and not just collateral damage, just as you couldn't cancel Kozmo's supernova if he's attacking someone else, even if it ends up burning Axel.
     
    der_narr likes this.
  4. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    1,749
    Any model affected by an Action is a Target. Is it, @AdmiralJCJF ?
     
  5. Kilroy

    Kilroy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    9
    Wow, that seems REALLY good. He could neutralize actions like Frostbite or Deus Vult!
    Actually, Whirlwind has a range and requires line of sight, as it's :L:1-2.
    [​IMG]
    The key element seems that everyone involved in an action becomes a target. Axl still could not neutralize actions that end up involving him due to a switch (D/Buffer, for instance) since Saved by the bell can be used "after the declaration of an action and not "after the roll".
    Is that correct?
    Curiously enough, he could use Saved by the bell to prevent the Bounce at no cost switched by Koorie Queen's Boomerang.
     
    #5 Kilroy, Jan 13, 2020 at 11:31 AM
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2020 at 11:36 AM
  6. AdmiralJCJF

    AdmiralJCJF Heart of the Hyperpower
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,043
    Likes Received:
    4,028
    That was my thinking.

    But, now that I look at it more closely my intuitive response may have been wrong.

    I think we might need @-V- to help us with this one.
     
    Kilroy likes this.
  7. Kelthret

    Kelthret Usuario

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    261
    That's the range and LoS of the effect, not the one of the action, that should be next to the name, as with every action in the game that has it. This is important, cause it means it's not affected by changes in the range of the action such as Lunah's Holo Sight.
    You could even argue that declaring Whirlwind when no one is around is a valid declaration, the action just has no effect.
     
    der_narr and Kilroy like this.
  8. rag1n

    rag1n Well-Known Member
    Warcor Aristeia

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2018
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    53
    Whirlwind does not have a range requirement in order to use the ability

    It is the effects of the ability that has a range requirement