1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

When is the Resolution Step?

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Cilionelle, Dec 29, 2017.

  1. Cilionelle

    Cilionelle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi there. A question came up in our game yesterday:

    Mushashi does 5 damage to Parvati (who is placed in the Infirmary), and enough other symbols to activate Kaze Tachinu.

    Can he now Displace himself the two spaces to Major Lunah and use Ken No Sen again against her, or does Ken No Sen activate first and then he can use the Displacement?

    In other words, when is the 'Resolution Step', which is not listed in the Reference Guide?
     
  2. eronth

    eronth Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    41
    Huh, nice catch. I would personally interpret Resolution step to be equivalent to End step of an action, therefore, during Effects step you get to displace yourself (since that is when the damage is done), then right after would be End followed by the Ken No Sen attack again.

    But that's just how I would interpret it, seeing no explicit answer.
     
  3. zlavin

    zlavin Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    647
    This have been answer before (I think in the spanish forum by @-V-)

    Kaze Tachinu is "immediately after inflicting X:4:", this is in the Resolution Step. So you can displace yourself and do another Ken No Sen if you activated the switch to another target if you are in contact.
     
  4. Roadrunner7431

    Roadrunner7431 Well-Known Member
    Warcor Aristeia

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2017
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    354
    I agree with the previous two replies. Kaze Tachinu is an Automatic Skill that is always active. In fact, I believe it would be active even when Mushashi is the defender in an attack - if he inflicts damage. For instance, if Gata would be foolish enough to attack Mushashi with "Contender" so she rolls one orange die and he rolls a green and a blue in defense. She could get no successes and he gets a combination of successes and shields (and he can use his switch to convert shields to successes.) He could inflict two damage; sent Gata to the infirmary; and displace himself two spaces. However since the switches of the repeat attack of Ken no Sen are within the attack itself, I believe Mushashi would have to be the attacker to attack after displacing after doing damage.
     
  5. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,239
    Likes Received:
    10,636
    What roadrunner said, although note that Mushashi's top-level switch to turn shields into successes requires the target to be next to him, so doesn't help against shooting from further away than adjacent.
     
    -V-, Roadrunner7431 and precinctomega like this.
  6. precinctomega

    precinctomega Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    21
    And there was me seeing him deflecting shots back at his opponents, Jedi-style!

    Sent from my CUBOT CHEETAH 2 using Tapatalk