When does smoke go down?

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by KGG, Jan 25, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KGG

    KGG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    631
    Probably missed something important, but couldn't see on the 'smoke ammunition' page of the wiki.
    When does smoke go down, after passing the roll, or at the end of the turn? All examples show Move then Smoke orders.

    I.e. is there any difference between Move - Smoke vs Smoke - Move?
    Thinking moving out from total cover and throwing smoke to cover the whole path, vs throwing smoke from total cover and then moving through the smoke.

    If there was an enemy (non-MSV) BS ARO, would they both be face-to-face due to 'all at once'?
     
  2. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,685
    Likes Received:
    3,683
    Normal Roll: if you don't fail it!
    Face to Face Roll: if you win ALL lf the FtF involved

    Example:
    Shaolin moves.
    ARO from Nisse (MSV2) and Fusilier
    Shaolin put smoke on his feet

    Nisse has a normal roll because he can ignore Smoke Ammo.
    If the Shaolin wins the FtF, the smoke template remains in place. Otherwise it is removed at the resolution.
     
    KGG likes this.
  3. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    2,213
    Likes Received:
    3,457
    It goes down in Resolution if you pass your roll. It's probably not in the smoke ammunition rule because the Order Expenditure Sequence already says that rolls are made in Resolution, and you can't put the smoke down before you know if you succeed the roll.

    (I mean, you put the template down when you declare it, but it only represents the spot you're trying to throw smoke, until Resolution).
     
    chromedog and KGG like this.
  4. KGG

    KGG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    631
    Thanks. Of course.. order expenditure sequence. I'm not very good at navigating the wiki.
    So just to be clear there is no 'throw smoke from out of LoF and then walk into the smoke'? You'll get shot as if you'd walked into the open and then thrown smoke at your feet?

    The difference would be only if the opponent can perform any ARO to the first part of the order? I.e ZoC ARO would make a difference as they couldn't declare BS attack to you walking out in part 2 of the order if they'd already have a valid ZoC ARO from you throwing the smoke from out of LoF in part 1?
     
  5. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,685
    Likes Received:
    3,683
    During the order in which you place the Smoke template on the table, the template is in place ONLY for the purpose of define whi will get to roll FtF.

    If you want to pass a corner SAFE, you need two orders. One you put the Smoke template in position and one you cross the gap (hoping there was no HD MSV on the other side :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:
     
    chromedog and KGG like this.
  6. KGG

    KGG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    631
    Thanks. I think the 'inside ZoC, outside LoF' bit above would work though. As an ARO would be triggered after short skill 1, but the smoke thrower would still be out of LoF at that point, so ZoC ARO would become 'use it or lose it' at that point and you can't declare BS attack without LoF so ARO would have to be dodge or something, at which point you can walk out with short skill 2 of the same order without taking the hit.

    The next question would be if being covered by a smoke template from outside LoF and outside ZoC would 'trigger' an ARO or not?
    Would an enemy outside of ZoC and LoF that was covered by a smoke template in short skill 1 have to declare an ARO to being affected by a template, or could they wait until short skill 2?
     
  7. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,685
    Likes Received:
    3,683
    You get an ARO (Hacking not included) when:
    1) An enemy act in your LoF
    2) An enemy act in your ZoC
    3) You get under a template, even a Smoke!
     
    KGG likes this.
  8. KGG

    KGG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    631
    Cool. So our smoke-thrower could be safe if:
    - He throws smoke with short skill 1 from inside ZoC, outside LoF, triggering a non-BS attack ARO, then Moves for short skill 2, without a worry?
    or
    -He throws smoke with short skill 1 from outside ZoC, outside LoF, but covering the enemy unit in the smoke template, triggering a Dodge -3 template ARO, then moves for short skill 2, without a worry?
     
  9. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    2,213
    Likes Received:
    3,457
    We're all waiting for some sort of clarification, FAQ, or errata on this one, but yes, at the moment it appears that they can't ARO with a BS Attack if blocked by total cover. So if you're in total cover and you declare the smoke throw first (or Dodge, Place Deployable, anything that maintains the total cover really), if they're inside ZoC they'll have to ARO with something other than BS Attack, and you can then safely move out of total cover with your second short skill.

    The risk is that if you fail your smoke roll, you'll be a sitting duck on the next order if you moved into LoF of the enemy trooper hoping the smoke would go down.

    It also, weirdly, doesn't work if the initial LoF to the enemy is blocked by existing smoke rather than total cover. Then, they can declare a preemptive BS Attack ARO which will become valid if you move into their LoF with your second short skill. Which is part of why a FAQ is needed.
     
    KGG and Mahtamori like this.
  10. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,073
    Likes Received:
    15,380
    1) Yes, but do keep an eye on the FAQ and expect it to be addressed/changed going forward.
    2) This is functionally no different from 1) if you are inside the opponent's ZoC at time of declaring the first Short Skill.

    Remember that if you move into LOF of the opponent they will not get -3 to their Dodge for having an opponent active inside their ZoC but outside their LOF nor will they get a -3 for being affected by a template shot by an opponent outside their LOF - since the active opponent will be inside their LOF if you move like so.

    P.s. if your trooper is concealed not by terrain, but by e.g. smoke in their original position, the opponent can declare a BS Attack on you and if you move into LOF of them using the second Short Skill that BS Attack will become valid.
     
    KGG likes this.
  11. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,685
    Likes Received:
    3,683
    You don't even need smoke here, you can just declare a Dodge as first skill.

    Just note that you MUST see the impact point for the template to be able to use BS Attack. Otherwise it is a Speculative Attack that is an Entire Order skill
     
    KGG likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation