1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

When does an ARO declared invalid?

Discussion in 'Rules' started by HardDisk, Apr 18, 2018.

  1. HardDisk

    HardDisk Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    158
    Icouldn't find which step from order expediture sequence we declare that an ARO was invalid.

    Like, if a fusilier walks with the first move into a Ghulam ZoC, but out of LoS, could the Ghulam declare a dodge while hoping that the fusilier will walk into LoS with the second move? that way the Ghulam would fulfill the LoS requeriment for the dodge.

    So, we say its valid/invalid after declare it or after the second short skill?

    If its after we declare the ARO, the dodge is invalid, if its after the second skill (step 6 of order expediture sequence ), its valid. Right?
     
  2. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,419
    Likes Received:
    11,078
    You have to fulfil the Requirements of a Skill when declaring it, just bear in mind that any distances don't get checked until the Resolution step of the Order.

    So no, you can't declare a Dodge in the hopes that the active trooper moves into LoF with their second Skill.
     
    inane.imp, HardDisk and xagroth like this.
  3. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,734
    Likes Received:
    4,654
    On the resolution step you check all assumptions are right.

    Your example also is irrelevant in the way that, if you can't see the enemy during is first short order, seeing him during the second because he moved again means he won't fire at you, he has done a move+move and so cannot shoot, dodge or do anything else.
    Also, unless he was inside your Zone of Control, he generated no ARO (assuming no repeaters nor hacking are involved) from your troop, so you would not be able to declare an ARO... but if you see him in his second Move, then you can declare an ARO, like shooting him in the face (something he cannot contest, since he exhausted both of his short orders)
     
  4. HardDisk

    HardDisk Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    158
    I was thinking about when someone moves inside your ZoC but without LoS, making you ARO only with change face and then moving into BtB, avoiding any reaction.

    But thanks for the clarification!
     
    xagroth likes this.
  5. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    2,322
    Likes Received:
    3,092
    this is a perfectly valid and intentional move and makes getting into CC slightly easier!
     
    xagroth likes this.
  6. HardDisk

    HardDisk Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    158
    yeah, just trying to deal with it some way :)
     
  7. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,475
    Likes Received:
    1,440
    Similar question with ARO with limited distance :

    1) Trooper A declare move
    2) Thinking he is close enough Trooper B ARO with his chain rifle
    3) Trooper A declare move

    When do whe check if the template can hit A ? What happen if A is too far to be hit at the end of step 1 but close enough at the end of step 2 ?


    Same question could be asked for someone AROing with a weapon with limited range :

    1) Trooper A declare move
    2) Thinking he is close enough Trooper B ARO with his Boarding shotgun
    3) Trooper A declare move

    When do whe check if the Boarding shotgun can hit A ? What happen if A is too far to be hit at the end of step 1 (ex : 62 cm away) but close enough at the end of step 2 (ex : 55 cm away) ?



    Same question with hacking :

    1) Gabriele De Fersen declare move
    2) Thinking he is close enough and having LOF, the Zero KHD ARO with his Redrum
    3) Trooper A declare move

    When do whe check if Gabriele is in the zero hacking zone ? What happen if Gabriele is 22 cm away from the Zero at the end of step 1 but 18 cm away at the end of step 2 ?
     
  8. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    2,322
    Likes Received:
    3,092
    Templates are placed as soon as the attack is declared, so that may affect Trooper A's second skill or movement path. Templates weapons are placed for the entire length of the order, so if he enters it at any point of his movement he is hit. (this is especially nasty against link teams if they all walk through it, as it hits everyone).

    ZOC and measurements are measured at the end, after all parts of an order are declared. if Gabrielle enters ZOC of the Zero at any point he is valid for hacking. (Keep in mind that Gabriele has stealth and unless that zero has LOF, he cannot declare ARO unless Gabriele declares something other than short movement or cautious movement skill.)