1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Typo in the FAQ re stealth and coordinated orders?

Discussion in 'Rules' started by QueensGambit, Feb 7, 2021.

  1. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit SecUnit

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    1,595
    Likes Received:
    2,220
    This has come up in other threads, but is unanswered so I figure it deserves its own thread.

    The FAQ contains the following question:

    If several Troopers are activated at once (for example a Coordinated Order or a Fireteam) and one of them uses Stealth while outside a reactive Trooper's ZoC or Hacking Area, can the Trooper that used Stealth be chosen as the target of AROs? [emphasis added.]

    I think the word "outside" is a typo and is meant to be "inside." I think so because Stealth is a skill which specifically affects what happens when the Stealthy trooper acts inside a reactive trooper's ZoC. I think the question is intended to address a scenario where a Stealthy trooper is acting inside ZoC (thereby engaging the Stealth rule) while other troopers are simultaneously acting.

    As written, the inclusion of Stealth in the question is meaningless - the question would be identical if none of the active troopers used Stealth, since Stealth has no effect when acting outside reactive troopers' ZoC.

    @ijw , are you able to confirm this? Or otherwise explain what the question is meant to mean?

    (Although I think it's an obvious typo, I think official confirmation is important because if the question is indeed meant to read "inside," it helps answer some other, more controversial questions about the declaration of potentially invalid AROs.)
     
    inane.imp, Methuselah and wes-o-matic like this.
  2. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    7,466
    Bumping - this looks like a typo to me as well. What’s the Spanish FAQ say?
     
    inane.imp and QueensGambit like this.
  3. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,058
    Likes Received:
    14,411
    Yes, it's a typo, but unfortunately I don't think it's going to get fixed until the next FAQ. :-(
     
    toadchild, QueensGambit and inane.imp like this.
  4. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    5,996
    Likes Received:
    7,087
    Honestly, that's fine. Mistakes happen: clarity is what's important.
     
  5. Nuada Airgetlam

    Nuada Airgetlam Nazis sod off ///

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    2,669
    Could you please make a "provisional reply" thread stating "ERRATA: page this and that, Stealth rule: says 'outside', should say 'inside' " in cases like this?
     
    Tristan228 likes this.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation