1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

total newby lost in the setting

Discussion in 'New Users' started by Dfspawn, Jan 15, 2018.

1. Dfspawn

Dfspawn Member

hi all
    a total newby and I am kinda lost
    I walked in on a game and was blown away at what was going on.
    not sure where to go from here, there are a couple of questions that I cant seem to find an answer for,
    are minis from the dire foes mission packs legal?
    and which is better grabbing a 2 player starter or just a faction starter

2. Belgrim

Belgrim Well-Known Member

Yes, dire foes are legal
    If you have also someone who is interested the 2 player packs are a good deal and a good start for a vanilla army. But if you can’t find anyone to split with then a faction box is a good deal.
    There is also the 3rd and more expensive option of buying stuff that you like and continue building from there.

:edit:

By faction starter I thought you meant the sectorial “army packs” like the Corregidor one which are 300points. If you meant just the simple starter packs, then yes they are the basic stuff you can buy to start the faction you like.

#2 Belgrim, Jan 15, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2018
  3. Dfspawn

Dfspawn Member

thanks for the info
    there is talk of a escalation league so starting at a low cost than 300 would be better,
    not looked into which faction I would like to try.
    there are a few models i fancy from all factions which is a bit strange
    another question can you get the starter rules from the 2 player sets without having to buy the set i.e. a pdf download
    and can they be used with other factions ?

4. Lothair

Lothair Well-Known Member

Look at the minies you like and check out the lore of each faction before you decide.

I recommend picking a faction or sectorial starter.

5. chromedog

chromedog Less than significant minion