Timing within Step 6.1 Effects

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by inane.imp, Oct 14, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    So:

    1. Jazz activates and Moves within ZOC of Neko
    2. Neko declares Dodge
    3. Jazz declares Carbonite
    5. Neko's ARO is checked and it's valid
    6. Jazz and Neko both roll their Skill Tests, they're Normal rolls and both pass.
    6.1. Three things happens:
    A. Neko enters the IMM-B state
    B. Neko Moves 4" as part of his Dodge
    C. Neko enters the Engaged State with an Alguicil

    How is this resolved?

    I think what happens is:
    First, Neko Dodges and enters the Engaged State
    Second, Neko enters the IMM-B state
    Third, the Engaged State is cancelled because all enemy Troopers are in an IMM state.

    However, that introduces an order of operations within Step 6.1.*

    * Note, the Rules PDF incorrectly states that Effects is step 5.1 because it has not been updated to account for Step 5.
     
  2. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    2,213
    Likes Received:
    3,457
    I think the intent is that you stop being engaged once you're no longer in silhouette contact with anyone who can cc you. So I agree that the outcome should be that the engaged state is cancelled in your example.

    Step 6.1 says you resolve all effects of successful skills, special skills, and pieces of equipment. In the example, the two Skills declared in the order are Dodge and Carbonite. The effects of those Skills are that Neko moves into silhouette contact with an Alguacile, and becomes IMM. Those effects are resolved simultaneously, without an order of operations.

    The fact that the alguacile has no valid cc adversaries in silhouette contact is not, it seems to me, an effect of either Dodge or Carbonite. Rather, it's an overall game state that results after both effects have been resolved.

    In other words, I don't think there's an order of operations problem here. Resolve the effects of all skills simultaneously. Then the Engaged state automatically cancels itself.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation