Template Attacks vs. Civilians N5

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Danimoth, Jun 26, 2025 at 4:33 PM.

  1. Danimoth

    Danimoth New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    upload_2025-6-26_17-31-6.jpeg

    The rule states I am not allowed to declare an attack against neutral units, but goes on tostate that if when I declare such an attack, it is cancelled.

    upload_2025-6-26_17-32-10.png

    Civilian rule last point states that it is not cancelled, but rather the civilian is not effected. Does this mean, that the RAW is that I can not declare an attack that will effect the civilian at all, as per the main rule's first sentence. Or does it mean that I can declare, it.. It goes on to be cancelled, and is not cancelled finally as per the Civilian rule's last bullet-point?
     
  2. Iskandar

    Iskandar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    240
    No it says you can't declare attacks against Allied or Neutral Troopers.

    So it's not cancelled but the Civilian is just not effected by the template but everyone else is.
     
    Danimoth likes this.
  3. iKon

    iKon Not Very Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    324
    It specifically is cancelled? "Therefore, if when declaring an Attack with a Template Weapon, an Allied or Neutral Trooper would be affected by the Template, that shot is cancelled"
     
  4. iKon

    iKon Not Very Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    324
    Lets go step by step.

    You can not declare an attack that would include a civilian.

    That you are not permitted to declare the attack if the template would include a civilian in the area of effect you just can't declare it so you must declare something else if the template can't be placed in a way that it won't contact the civilian.

    The next bit need to be there because of involuntary templates (I can only think of Explode off the top of my head) if you meet the criteria for explode and a civilian is effected then the entire Explode is cancelled so nobody is effected.

    The only thing I don't quite get the reasoning for is what template weapon doesn't have a PS or cause states?
     
  5. Tristan228

    Tristan228 Bakunin's best Morlock trainer
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    2,548
    Screenshot_20250627_073757_Firefox.jpg
    Civilian:
    • Game element with attributes? :+1:
    • Belongs to the army list of any player? :-1:
    • Can spend Orders? :-1:
    So by this definition a Civilian doesn't actually count as a Trooper. It is Neutral, but not a Neutral Trooper.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  6. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    3,687
    You can declare a Template Attack agaisnt Enemy Model A, while a Civilian is under the template too. The attack is not cancelled, but the Civilian is unaffected.

    You CANNOT declare a Template Attack agaist a Civilian, while an Enemy Camo Marker is under the template too. The Civilian is not a legal target.
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation