1) Corregidor can take a Gecko Fireteam. 2) Both the Gecko TAG and Gecko Pilot have the 'Gecko' word in their unit name. 3) Can a Gecko pilot who has dismounted rejoin a fireteam?
Assuming this is from Discord, I'll summarize my argument I made there: TAG rules are in a very incomplete format and what is shared between Pilot and TAG seem dictated on a case-by-case basis at the moment. The TAG itself is the actual real trooper, though. Since the Pilot isn't the unit and doesn't have the correct short name (the name in the list) it can't be used to form a team. Similarly, Zhanshi Yisheng are not Zhanshi without the 'tag' and Rosie needs the Grunt 'tag' to count as a Grunt. They can be part of it if dismounting inside one same way a team that has lost a required unit can still maintain integrity as long as it doesn't need to be reformed.
That's a good question. But I'd say he can't. The real trooper - one that generates Orders - is the TAG itself. It has to remain in non-Null state and witihn ZoC of the Team leader to stay in the Fireteam. Yes, it is a little counterintuitive at first glance - the machine being important, and not the pilot - but not unrealistic, when you think of it (yes, I know: Infinity and RL logic don't always go hand in hand). Fireteam Table says "Gecko", and not "Gecko Pilot" can be a part of a Gecko Fireteam. That would mean you can pop the Pilot out of a (still operational) TAG and get him to, say, activate an Objective. The TAG will remain in the Fireteam (if unable to do anything), until the pilot mounts back. Or the Fireteam moves beyond ZoC of that TAG.
I understand your points, although the TAG itself is called 'Gecko' Squadron not "Gecko". Hence the need for an official clarification. Not that I would play it that way unless it was officially ruled to be so.
@MattB89 please read the post above from Iskandar. It is already been FAQ'ed. More official than that?
Pilot and TAG are different profiles for the same unit. A Gecko unit has 2 profiles. Both are valid for forming as well as mantaining a Fireteam,
Except when they aren't Pilots do not dominate ZOs, even when the TAG is gone from the table, units with two profiles for the same unit can dominate with either profile. Pilots can't use the Lieutenant Order since they lack the skill, units with two profiles for the same unit doesn't make this distinction. Reseting a Pilot (Remote) from e.g. IMM state will kick the TAG from the Fireteam, units with two profiles for the same unit aren't normally kicked for doing a Reset nor from cancelling a detrimental state. Units with two profiles for the same unit never have both profiles on the table at the same time.
And those are what? Specified exceptions to how they would normally work... You starded right. "Except when they aren't". Outside of those exception, they are the original profile.
Except that the biggest exception here is that this is your own reading of the rules which goes beyond what the rules actually say. It is in fact necessary for the two to be different units while the Pilot is dismounted to make a lot of rules work.