1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Suppresive fire cancellation

Discussion in 'Rules' started by pieter, Jun 1, 2019.

  1. pieter

    pieter New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all,

    In a game this morning the following question happened: can a miniature in suppressive fire state change facing due to an ally dying nearby (applying alarm rules) without losing suppressive fire?

    We tried to look for an answer, but could not find anything more than the FAQ, that says that moving due to failing guts roll cancels suppressive fire state...

    Many thanks!
     
  2. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    393
    changing face due to the warning rule does allow you to turn to face. at least from my last understanding of the faqs applying to suppressive fire.
     
    Ogid, inane.imp and Hecaton like this.
  3. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    4,219
    Warning! does not trigger any of the Suppression Fire state cancellation clauses.

    Cancellation clauses of Suppression Fire are:
    The trooper declares an Order.

    The trooper declares an ARO different from a BS Attack using Suppressive Fire.

    The trooper uses a weapon that cannot be used for Suppressive Fire.

    The trooper's state changes to a Null state, or to Blinded, Engaged, Immobilized, Isolated, Retreat! or to any other state which specifies that it cancels Suppressive Fire.

    The trooper's army enters a Loss of Lieutenantsituation.

    The trooper joins any kind of Infinity Fireteam(Core, Haris, Enomotarchos, Tohaa...) (see Infinity. Human Sphere and Infinity. Campaign: Paradiso).
     
    Ogid likes this.
  4. pieter

    pieter New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I see... Although failing guts does not appear explicitly in the cancellation clauses of Suppression Fire. However, I guess that until a FAQ is published, 'Warning!' will not cancel Suppression Fire.

    Many thanks!
     
    inane.imp likes this.
  5. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    4,740
    You're exactly right. The fact that Guts movement did not cancel suppressive was raised as a concern, and it was then addressed in a subsequent FAQ. That FAQ was very narrow, though, and only covered that one case.

    My personal preference would have been for the original rule or the FAQ to make a general statement that any movement of the model for any reason, including simply changing facing, would cancel the state. However, that is not the rule (or FAQ) that we currently have.
     
    Hecaton likes this.
  6. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    4,219
    I actually like Warning! not cancelling Suppression Fire. It's a significant defensive buff to high ARM multiple wound models.
     
    toadchild likes this.
  7. NorthernNomad

    NorthernNomad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    86
    Was this Interpretation (that warning does NOT cancel SF state) ever confirmed?
     
  8. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5,158
    Likes Received:
    10,472
    It's not listed as a cancellation clause. Unless an FAQ entry or errata is released, making use of Warning! as per the published rules does not drop Suppressive Fire.
     
    chromedog, BLOODGOD and NorthernNomad like this.