Stealth & Declaring Movement

Discussion in '[Archived]: N3 Rules' started by RobertShepherd, Nov 7, 2018.

  1. RobertShepherd

    RobertShepherd Antipodean midwit

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    4,205
    Quick question about the language in the Stealth skill - and apologies in advance as this is a bit of a pre-Coffee O'Clock question.

    Stealth reads:
    • A trooper with Stealth that declares a Short Movement Skill or Cautious Movement within the Zone of Control of one or more enemies but outside their LoF does not grant AROs to those enemies, even if he reaches base contact with them.
    For the purposes of the above, does 'declaring a short movement skill... outside LoF' mean that the entirety of the path of the short movement skill must be outside LoF, or simply that the trooper must be outside LoF at the time the trooper declares the skill?

    I'm mostly fuzzy on whether 'declaring' a skill is intended to refer to announcing the intended use of a skill, or the entire subsequent execution of that skill.
     
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,081
    Likes Received:
    15,389
    It means that a unit with Stealth can declare Cautious Movement if they're within ZoC of an enemy as if they were outside the ZoC of that enemy. The requirement of staying outside of LOF at the start and at the end of the Cautious Movement remains.

    And keeping in mind what Stealth does (which is prevent granting ZoC AROs), for the Short Movement Skill Move, it does nothing if your opponent's unit gains LOF.
     
    ijw likes this.
  3. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    9,340
    Likes Received:
    17,157
    "I Move to this spot via this path" is the Declaration, models are also physically moved as part of the Declaration step in the order expenditure sequence.

    So if any part of the Move is in LoF then you can't use Stealth.
     
  4. RobertShepherd

    RobertShepherd Antipodean midwit

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    4,205
    Yeah, that was how we've always played it, but it bugged me that the language of the skill seemed to stop itself from working (since an enemy model categorically gains LoF when you move into base contact with them).
     
  5. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4,270
    Likes Received:
    8,107
    It's a bit weird, but that's the reason for the note of "... even if he reaches base contact with them". It's making an exception to the normal BtB LoF rules.
     
  6. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,686
    Likes Received:
    5,510
    Note: this is really only for if you are behind the models 180 lof for the whole order.

    If you approach from the front 180, then you are probably in lof for a part of that move and as ypu are revealed for the whole move if you reach b2b then ypu get shot
     
  7. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4,270
    Likes Received:
    8,107
    * Or if smoke is involved
     
    Xeurian and daboarder like this.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation