1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

[SOLVED] Guts Rule Discrepancy Spanish v. English

Discussion in 'Dudas de reglas resueltas' started by Jhokalups, Dec 20, 2018.

Tags:
  1. fenren

    fenren Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    35
    Been a few months. Any word on this?
     
  2. TheDiceAbide

    TheDiceAbide That's just like your opinion man.
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    1,683
    Hopefully this gets resolved in the next FAQ.

    From the Spanish text, and @HellLois ‘s comment, it certainly seems that RAW/RAI in Spanish there is some turning happening.

    In English however, RAW there is not...

    I’m inclined to go with the Spanish ruling, of turning after passing Guts. But it’s only kind of supported in English in the Introductory Rules.
     
    xammy, Hecaton and toadchild like this.
  3. Ogid

    Ogid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    745
    Beware, friends. I feel powerful necromancy here!
    In infinity we can defend from a TAG or a hacking attack, but not from this mojo!

    Better give them the answer before it's too late...
     
  4. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,365
    Likes Received:
    4,490
    Last FAQ was April, I believe, so next one is due out July. Fingers crossed that it covers some ground from @Arkhos94's excellent questions list.
     
  5. NorthernNomad

    NorthernNomad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    80
    We already have a ruling from Hellois, in which he gave a clear and explicit answer.

    If the trooper survives an Attack against him from outside of his 180º LOF, he can turn to face the attacker, at the end of the Order and without any Roll required.

    What more do you want him to say? That the answer he already gave is still the answer?
     
    #25 NorthernNomad, Jun 12, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2019
    chromedog likes this.
  6. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes Received:
    9,905
    This is from the simplified introductory mission, not from the actual N3 game rules.

    At a minimum, that a thread ends up in the Solved Rule Forum, explicitly saying that the English rules text is wrong and that the Spanish rules text over-rides it. And that would just be in preparation for errata to be added to the FAQ document and wiki.
     
    xagroth, TheDiceAbide, Bobman and 2 others like this.
  7. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    4,212
    Yeah. He quoted the Introductory rules to provide that answer. So it's NOT clear.
     
    fenren likes this.
  8. NorthernNomad

    NorthernNomad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    80
    I think it is pretty clear that he is saying the Spanish version is correct. The last line of his ruling is him re-stating the Spanish rules for Guts (as translated below):

    But I will concede that if multiple other people don't see it that way it must be ambiguous enough to warrant a quick follow up.
     
  9. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    4,212
    Honestly if he'd simply said 'the Spanish version is correct' and [Solved] the thread there I'd be with you. But he didn't :'(
     
  10. Bobman

    Bobman MERC
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    442
    Exactly. And when asked to confirm that is what he meant there was no answer. So this is absolutely not confirmed at all.
     
    fenren, BLOODGOD and Hecaton like this.
  11. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5,288
    Likes Received:
    8,367
    Have we tagged this for the Unsolved Rules Questions thread? @Arkhos94 ?
     
    Hecaton likes this.
  12. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,365
    Likes Received:
    4,490
    From the other thread:

     
  13. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5,288
    Likes Received:
    8,367
    Again, see @Bobman and @inane.imp posts just above my previous post on this very page.
     
  14. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,365
    Likes Received:
    4,490
    ??? You were asking if it was in the unanswered questions thread and I provided a link showing that it was
     
    inane.imp likes this.
  15. Section9

    Section9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5,288
    Likes Received:
    8,367
    Sorry, failed to see where that "other thread" link pointed. :facepalm:
     
  16. NorthernNomad

    NorthernNomad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    80