1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

[SOLVED] Cancelling Extremely Impetuous Orders

Discussion in 'Solved Rule Questions' started by Triumph, Nov 10, 2018.

  1. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,423
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Sanity check me here. Ran into a player who argued that the following text means you can only ever cancel 1 extremely impetuous order per turn.


    "Canceling an Impetuous Order
    During their Impetuous Phase, players can cancel one Impetuous Order of an Extremely Impetuous trooper by expending one Regular Order from that Order Pool."
     
  2. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    4,819
    It’s one impetuous per regular order spent.
     
    inane.imp and FatherKnowsBest like this.
  3. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,423
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    That I agree on, but now I need to argue against the english that technically implies one per turn.
     
  4. HeckMeiser

    HeckMeiser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    65
    There's no "per turn" in the wording of the rule.
     
  5. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,423
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Yeah, the problem is the player is arguing this


    Implies that you can only cancel one, because it says you can cancel one, not two, not three, not as many as you need, but one, and the rules are required to be read as a permissive set to function properly.

    And the only answer I have is basically sure, but you're wrong. Which is difficult to argue effectively.
     
  6. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    1,249
    This is one of the situations where we get to discuss the fact that the rules were written by people with English as a second language.

    The machine translation of that section is “During the Impetuous Phase, the player may cancel the Impetuous Order of an Extreme Impetuous troop by consuming a Regular Order of Order Reservation. In such a case, the player removes from the table the Impetuous Order Marker located next to the troop that will no longer be able to make said Impetuous Order.”

    The Spanish text:
    “Durante la Fase Impetuosa, el jugador podrá cancelar la Orden Impetuosa de una tropa Impetuosa Extrema consumiendo una Orden Regular de la Reserva de Órdenes. En tal caso, el jugador retira de la mesa el Marcador de Orden Impetuosa situado al lado de la tropa que ya no podrá realizar dicha Orden Impetuosa.”


     
    FatherKnowsBest and inane.imp like this.
  7. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,423
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Probably the best response then is for @HellLois to give it the stamp of approval and file the thread in the answered questions forum, solves any arguments that may crop up.
     
    inane.imp likes this.
  8. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,276
    Likes Received:
    7,827
    Be an ass and start arguing it's one impetuous order per trooper and demand that they prove their stance is better anchored in the rules ;)

    ('cause who knows, there might be a Supremely Impetuous coming where a trooper has all disadvantages of Extremely Impetuous and gets TWO Impetuous Orders where one just can't be stopped)
     
  9. HellLois

    HellLois What the Hell...Lois?
    CB Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    1,953
    It’s one extremely impetuous per regular order spent as @toadchild said.
    no where in the rule say one per turn, so you can cancel one extremely impetuous order, per regular order.

    So if you have 4 extremely impetuous orders you can cancel them spending four regular orders.
     
    Xeurian, Erbent, Triumph and 5 others like this.