1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Smoke Dodge against Camo Marker

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Dementor, Jul 30, 2020.

  1. Dementor

    Dementor New Member

    Jan 14, 2020
    Likes Received:
    Hi guys, a quick question with 2 situations:
    1. I have a guy with smoke grenades, who spots a moving camo marker. Can he declare smode dodge ARO to cover himself and a nearby pal (even if the marker does not reveal)?
    2. Same situation, but can he declare a simple smoke throw to cover his comrade standing a little away (not smoke-dodging from the marker himself)?
  2. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)

    Apr 25, 2017
    Likes Received:
    Xeurian, chromedog, Sabin76 and 2 others like this.
  3. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Nov 23, 2017
    Likes Received:
    Combining the fact that you had two questions and @ijw's answer, there is no difference in the two situations. You don't declare a "smoke dodge". You declare a "BS Attack" with smoke (as pointed out in the answer) and whether that allows you to "dodge" (still poor wording, IMO) incoming attacks is only predicated on whether those attacks have their LoF blocked by the smoke (plus one or two other stipulations).

    Essentially, you want to think about smoke the same way as any other BS attack. Your higher successes cancel your opponent's lower successes (dodging?). It just so happens that smoke will NOT be a F2F roll (and, therefore, cannot be used to cancel attacks) if it doesn't block the LoF of the incoming attack. And, just like any other BS Attack, you can't use one F2F BS Attack to cancel the Attacks on a different trooper.
    #3 Sabin76, Jul 30, 2020
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2020
    solkan, chromedog and Willen like this.