1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Skill Level Questions

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Azuset, Apr 12, 2019.

  1. Azuset

    Azuset Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    151
    I want to make sure I understand that the skill levels Camoflague and Valor stack. Do they?

    Does a TO camo unit that pops out of camo get mimitisim out of camo marker state?

    Do Kung Shi get the benefits of V3: Dogged and have V1:1 courage?

    Thanks.
     
  2. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    1,303
    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Special_Skills#Special_Skill_Levels

    Some Special Skills are divided into Levels of expertise with distinct effects and uses.

    Unless otherwise stated, any numerical Level of a Special Skill automatically grants all lower Levels of the same Skill. For example, a Level 3 also grants Levels 1 and 2.

    Conversely, alphabetical Levels such as Level X state whether they grant any other Levels of the Skill or not.
     
  3. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    If a trooper has a skill that has a numeric level (like some of Camouflage and Hiding skills do), that trooper has the lower levels as well. If there isn't a factor preventing it, you can benefit from all of them at once.

    One of the things that will prevent you benefiting from multiple levels at once is the NFB (Negative Feedback) tag on skills.

    When a TO Camo unit pops out of camo, it doesn't benefit from mimetism. It benefits from whatever level of Camouflage and Hiding it's currently using. (You'll note that CH:1 through 3 each duplicate the bullet point that grants the user the defensive BS Attack MOD.)
     
    Azuset and Sabin76 like this.
  4. Azuset

    Azuset Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    151
    Can a TO unit down grade to mimitism? Of benifit from mimisitim after it pops out?
     
  5. Azuset

    Azuset Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    151
    Valor does stack because its not tagged with NFB, correct?
     
  6. Papa Bey

    Papa Bey Clueless Wonder. Still.

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    345
    If you wanted to? Yes.
     
  7. Azuset

    Azuset Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    151
    Can it then be upgraded again?
     
  8. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    1,157
    Why would you want to? TO imposes a -6 MOD whether or not you are in a marker state. Indeed, you can ONLY be shot at to impose that -6 if you are NOT in a marker state (though there is also a -6 MOD to discovering while still in the marker state).

    To your second question, yes. You can upgrade and downgrade your skill. You don't lose access to a skill if you've temporarily decided to use a lower level of it.
     
    ChoTimberwolf and Azuset like this.
  9. Azuset

    Azuset Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    151
    I thought you only got the -6 in marker state. Thanks for the help. :)
     
  10. gregmurdock

    gregmurdock Extremely Beloved Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    863
    NFB doesn't dictate when skills do or do not stack. This is left up to the skills themselves
     
  11. ChoTimberwolf

    ChoTimberwolf Artichoken Friend

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    376
    To why to tarn to as normal camos between mines etc
     
  12. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    1,157
    True, but what I was referring to was downgrading to mimetism.
     
  13. toadchild

    toadchild EI Aspect
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    4,658
    Please note also that camo and TO are fire sensitive and are reduced to mimetism when burnt. They also downgrade when you’re in retreat.
     
    Xeurian and Sabin76 like this.
  14. fartsocks

    fartsocks Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    34
    I didn't know this. Any idea where that rule is on the wiki? All I can find is an FAQ referring to it on the retreat page.
     
  15. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    1,108
    It took me some time but I found it : the answer is in the camouflaged state, in the cancellation clause (http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Camouflaged) :
    The Camouflaged trooper becomes Impetuous (due to the Frenzy Characteristic or any other effect) or enters Retreat! state In either case, the trooper's CH Level is downgraded to CH: Mimetism. The trooper recovers his original CH Level when the Retreat! situation is canceled. However, the trooper does not revert to the Camouflaged state. To regain the Camouflaged state, the trooper must follow the Activation rules.
     
    #15 Arkhos94, Apr 15, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2019
    fartsocks and toadchild like this.
  16. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    508
    so i have to wonder if that hidden effect would apply if you were not in the camo state. How would you know to apply a camo state cancellation effect in retreat situation to a model that is not in camo state ?

    edit: or how would you know to apply it to a model turning impetuous who was not even in camo state ?

    2nd edit: ok, at least the rule is in Frenzy :
    And the camo/imp cancellation clause says it equally applies to turning Retreat (which is kind of a form of impetuous order) or becoming impetuous from any other rules (due to the Frenzy Characteristic or any other effect)
     
  17. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    1,157
    Well, for Camo there is no difference (both Camo and Mimetism give a -3) if you are not in the marker state.
     
  18. fartsocks

    fartsocks Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    34
    Thanks, I was looking in the camo & hiding page, not the camo state page.
     
  19. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    1,108
    Yes but TO camouflage has the same clause :
    The TO Camouflaged trooper becomes Impetuous (due to the Frenzy Characteristic or any other effect) or enters Retreat! state In either case, the trooper's CH Level is downgraded to CH: Mimetism. The trooper recovers his original CH Level when the Retreat! situation is canceled. However, the trooper does not revert to the TO Camouflaged state. To regain the TO Camouflaged state, the trooper must follow the Activation rules.