1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra PolĂ­tica de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Silhouette 0

Discussion in 'Rules' started by kendofarfar, Feb 25, 2018.

Tags:
  1. kendofarfar

    kendofarfar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    How large is Silhouette 0?
    I know how high it is, but how large is it?
    Because I played a player yesterday who claimed if was the size of a S2 base, meaing it to that things with larger bases that go prone will fit through narrower gaps.
    Any rules/page-reference would be greatly appreciated as we found nothing
     
  2. SoMann

    SoMann Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    13
    N3 Frequently Asked QuestionUpdated: 1.1
    Q: Can any trooper pass through a Narrow Gate in a Prone State?
    A: Yes, because prone troopers have a Silhouette value of 0, so they fulfil the Requirements to pass through the Narrow Gate.
    Related Pages: Access Width, Prone, Silhouette

    That's the answer to the narrow part.
     
    kendofarfar likes this.
  3. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    7,276
    S0 are the same radius as their original silhouette. As SoMann pointed out, they still have an S-value 2 or lower, so a Yan Huo (S5) can go Prone and crawl their 40x3mm silhouette through a small door that a Zuyong (S2) at 25x40mm can walk comfortably through. So prone values (diameter x height and ignoring that some troops can't prone):
    S1 and S2: 25x3mm
    S3 S5 S6: 40x3mm
    S4 S7: 55x3mm
    I forget S8, but you get the drift (and Maggy can't prone, but might become relevant if Tohaa get a bio-monster that can prone)
     
    FatherKnowsBest and kendofarfar like this.
  4. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,559
    Likes Received:
    4,424
    Welcome to Corvus... xD

    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Prone Effects, first bullet point:
    • Prone troopers have a Silhouette (S) value of 0, that is, the equivalent height of a base.
    So a S5 Shogarat, Tarik Mansuri, Ajax... who go Prone will have a S5 base (40mm) with a Height of the base itself (which is the same for all bases).

    I assume the FAQ is a weird interaction because S0 has to be small than S1, and accesses go by Silhouette:

    • Narrow. This ingress point is only wide enough for troopers with a S Attribute of 2 or lower. It is marked by a Narrow Gate Marker (NARROW GATE).
     
    #4 xagroth, Feb 25, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2018
    kendofarfar likes this.
  5. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    7,274
    S5 is 40mm.
     
    xagroth likes this.
  6. cazboab

    cazboab Member (phrasing)

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    983
    S0 is "smaller" as a rules term for gates, but for line of fire you just use the base.
    I think the interaction of going prone to squeeze in is probably just using the available silhouettes that models already have, rather than adding an entire new common skill for getting through gates, and it avoids weird interaction trying to determine what silhouette is used at what point in the movement etc since there are defined points when you can go prone.
     
  7. kendofarfar

    kendofarfar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you all :)

    To clarify it was not a specific "Narrow gate" it was just physically narrow. Let's say 30mm. And his model had S3 before going prone.
    Would that work? WE resolved it some other way so it was not a problem really, just nice to know for future reference :)
     
  8. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    7,276
    If we're talking the distance between e.g. two crates of 30mm apart, then no, you have to specify it as a Narrow Gate at beginning of game if so - keeping in mind that Narrow Gates aren't necessarily always doors.
     
    inane.imp and kendofarfar like this.
  9. kendofarfar

    kendofarfar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you :)
    And where might I find the rule-text for this part:

     
  10. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    7,276
    @xagroth quoted it earlier in the thread and @SoMann quoted the clarifying FAQ.

    The values are just measuring silhouettes, CB bases are 3mm tall.
     
    xagroth likes this.
  11. kendofarfar

    kendofarfar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    But no where does it actually say that it is supposed to have the same diameter as the original silhouette?
    Or am I just unable to read today? :P
     
  12. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    7,276
    I don't think it's defined anywhere else.
     
  13. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,559
    Likes Received:
    4,424
    I think the only place where Silhouette 0 is defined is inside the Prone state (kinda disorganized, yes, there should be an entry for it on the Silhouette "chapter"), since the pieces of equipment with S0 (discovered mines and the like) do not define it.

    So rule of thumb: S0 is the dimensions of the base of the model, and since S0<S2 it also allows troops able to go prone to cross "accesses" that they would not be able, however the Access rules are currently not needed for ITS (the Central Room used in so many missions until this very ITS had Narrow Gate doors, for example).

    Also... if you Engage successfully then you "teleport" regardless of the availability of accesses... So for example if I were to declare Engage with the Maghariba against a Yuan Yuan inside my engagement radius and roll a 1 against his Chain Rifle, the Maggy would then be placed B2B with the YY however it might be possible (since I think the FAQ gives no thought to the possibility that the Maggy would not fit B2B with a S2 miniature anywhere even if she makes the engage roll XD).

    And finally remember that all models can go over any piece of terrain with a height smaller than their Silhouette (so yea, S0 has nearly no cover it can vault over, leading to potentially hilarious situations) and you cannot stay on top of anything smaller than the base.
     
    kendofarfar likes this.
  14. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    4,216
    It's probably worth pointing out the Heavyweight skill. It specifically prevents the 'my Blackjack (S5) goes Prone (S0) and squeezes through this Narrow Access'.
     
    kendofarfar likes this.