Shooting back through smoke - target point

Tema en '[Archived]: N4 Rules' iniciado por QueensGambit, 16 Ene 2021.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    This may have been answered before, but I can't come up with search keywords that would find it.

    Active trooper Angus has MSV2, and is inside smoke. He has LoF to reactive trooper Ralph. Angus is not in cover.

    Angus declares Move and, remaining in the smoke, moves up to touch some scenery which gives him cover from Ralph. Ralph can't react because the smoke blocks his LoF. Angus then declares BS attack, shooting from the point where he is in cover. Ralph shoots back.

    Can Ralph shoot Angus at the point of his move before he reaches cover? I think yes, but I'm told some people are playing that, because it is Angus' BS attack that gives Ralph the ability to shoot, Ralph has to shoot at the point he is shot from (so Angus would get cover against Ralph's shot).
     
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    It's the All At Once rule at work, essentially no different from if the smoke wasn't there at all.

    However, Angus has to declare a BS Attack "into, through, or out of a Zero Visibility Zone" for Ralph to be able to shoot at a point where the smoke is covering. Should Angus declare his attack so that his LOF doesn't go through the smoke, Ralph won't be able to declare an attack using a LOF that passes through the Zero Visibility Zone.

    I'm not sure it's come up during N4 yet, but I'm sure it will as smoke is kind of complicated.
     
  3. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    That's my interpretation as well. Unfortunately the All At Once rule isn't clearly-worded enough for me to be able to show it to opponents as a definitive answer.
     
  4. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    Oof, that's unfortunate. You may be trying to prove that a rule doesn't exist (specifically the rule that would you may only respond using the same LOF), then, which is almost impossible.
     
  5. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    Heh, when you put it that way I think you're right, that's exactly the problem I was having.

    Well, if nothing else if it comes up again, I can point to this thread as the best available evidence :-)

    It was only once that I had an opponent advance this interpretation, but he said that his meta plays it that way, so it could come up again. I think global TTS is uncovering a lot of these regional variations that in the past would have just gone unnoticed.
     
    A Daniel Darko le gusta esto.
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation