1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Rules Questions From Last Evenings Game

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Azuset, Aug 8, 2019.

  1. Azuset

    Azuset Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    180
    Last night my friend and I played a game of Frostbyte. IA vs Corregidor. Its was a blast. Here are some of the questions that came up that we could not answer after looking at the rules/wiki.

    1) Is the "move" from the dodge rule concidered the shortmovement skill "move"?
    2) Can you go prone while dodging?
    3)Can you dodge through your own models if they are blocking your path?

    Wiki ref.

    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Dodge

    DODGE SHORT SKILL / ARO
    Movement.
    REQUIREMENTS
    The user must be able to draw LoF to the attacker.

    EFFECTS
    • Allows the user to make a Face to Face Roll to evade one or more simultaneous enemy Attacks.
    • This Face to Face Roll pits the user's PH Attribute against whichever Attribute the attacker uses (BS, CC, PH, WIP...).
    • In the Active Turn, the Dodge Roll is compared to all attack AROs generated by the active trooper.
    • In the Reactive Turn, the Dodge Roll is compared to all Burst (B) attacks from all active enemies. For example, a reactive trooper could Dodge with a single Roll several shots from enemies using a Coordinated Order or all Close Combat attacks.
    • In Reactive Turn only, a successful Dodge allows the user to Move—or use another Short Movement Skill that doesn't require a Roll—up to 2 inches.
    • Movement resulting from Dodging in Reactive Turn can never be used to enter base to base contact with an enemy. Only the Common Skill Engage allows that.
    • Movement resulting from Dodging in Reactive Turn must follow the General Movement Rules as well as the Moving and measuring sidebar, both of which are explained in the Move Common Skill rules.
    IMPORTANT!
    Motorcycles and Remotes suffer a -3 MOD to their PH Attribute in all Dodge attempts.
    TAGs suffer a -6 MOD to their PH Attribute in all Dodge attempts.


    4.a) Nomads had an Iguana as their data tracker. IA was able to destory the TAG and the pilot game out. Did IA need to kill both the TAG and the pilot to get credit for the full amount of points for the Iguana (71pts)

    4.b) Does the pilot become the data tacker?


    5.a) There was a situation with hacking. IA had a Daoying Hacker within ZoC of the TAG pilot after it dispersed out of the TAG. The TAG pilot had a clear LOF. The IA hacker declared GOTCHA!. We where not sure how to proceed from here from a rules stand point.

    What we did do is this. TAG pilot declares a BS Attack back B1 with his pistol. We then did a face to face roll IA hacking program vs a BS attack. Was this correct?

    Do we treat hackers in LOF of a target and in hacking area as a standard ARO? or is a Reset the only thing they target of a hacking attack can do if it's not a hacker?

    5b.) If it is a Hacking attack vs a BS roll is it a FtF roll or is it a normal roll for both?

    I know these are a a lot of questions. Thanks in advance for your help!
     
    Daniel Darko and RobertShepherd like this.
  2. Azuset

    Azuset Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    180
    6) Can you stand up from prone when you spend an entire order on Suppressive Fire?
     
  3. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    8,718
    Yes, Yes, and Yes.
    The Iguana does not have a Pilot.

    The Iguana Operator is an alternate profile and will count for the full points value and as Datatracker.
    You played this correctly, if the operator had LoF to the hacker he can respond with any valid ARO including BS Attack.
    Both troopers are affecting each other so it is Face to Face.
    No, you can only stand up at the start of a Move skill (notwithstanding the exception for Impetuous troopers).
     
  4. Azuset

    Azuset Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    180
    Did you mean "Does"
     
  5. Azuset

    Azuset Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    180
    So this means in order to get points for killing a TAG that you must also kill the operator if it leaves the TAG? In this case the Iguana pilot would count as having 71 pts in a zone and 71pts at the end of the game, correct?
     
    WarHound likes this.
  6. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2,607
    chromedog, meikyoushisui and colbrook like this.
  7. Azuset

    Azuset Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    180
    colbrook likes this.
  8. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    8,718
    Nope, as mentioned above the Iguana Operator does not have the Pilot skill, it is not treated as a pilot by the game rules.
    The TAG and Operator are different profiles of the same trooper, it's more like Symbiont Armour or a Blackjack/Ratnik than a conventional Piloted TAG. The TAG doesn't count as Unconscious/Dead until the Operator is dealt with.
     
  9. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2,607
    Screen Shot 2019-08-08 at 10.27.42 AM.JPG

    Found at the bottom of the page
     
    WarHound, Azuset and colbrook like this.
  10. Azuset

    Azuset Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    180
    Thanks. I think im up to par now.
     
    RobertShepherd likes this.
  11. taxites

    taxites Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    23
    I have a question I'd like to tag onto this thread. Say, a model is right on the edge of a building, can said model dodge off the building's edge? Many thanks!
     
    Belgrim likes this.
  12. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    8,718
    Only if they also have Super Jump, Dodge is normally a "Move" which requires you to have your base fully supported at all times.
     
    Belgrim likes this.
  13. taxites

    taxites Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    23
    Thanks pal! I'm assuming the same goes for a failed guts?
     
    colbrook likes this.
  14. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2,607
    correct
     
    colbrook likes this.
  15. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,454
    Likes Received:
    8,007
    Addendum to @colbrook answer up there.

    1. Yes.
    2. Only if you use the Move short skill.
    3. Only if they have same or lower Silhouette and weren't moved in the same order - remember that you become S0 at the start of the movement when going Prone!

    Yes, but there is a difference. Guts Roll doesn't use your Short Movement Skills, it's a movement onto itself, meaning e.g. Tarik can't Guts Move off a ledge because he can't Jump during Guts, but he can Dodge off it.
     
    taxites and Azuset like this.
  16. Azuset

    Azuset Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    180
    Because the answer to 1. Is yes. That make 2. Possible, right?
     
  17. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,454
    Likes Received:
    8,007
    Dodging Prone in Reactive turn is possible, but you need to use the Move short movement skill. Tarik can't Dodge-Jump 2" and go prone, for example.

    Also, you must specify where and how you will move when you declare the Dodge - before rolling! (It actually matters to your opponent's decision making for the second short skill and to your decision making not knowing what your opponent will do or how well they will do it)
     
  18. Azuset

    Azuset Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    180
    This is great to know!

    Thanks.
     
  19. Belgrim

    Belgrim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    190
    Are we positive on this? Because I could not find the rules that enable super-jump models to dodge off a building's edge.
    Are there other situations besides super-jump that rules allow one to dodge without your base being supported at the end of the move?

    Does the same thing happens with Guts Roll?
    What if the ground is so far that even with Super-jump the model with take damage from the fall?
     
  20. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,454
    Likes Received:
    8,007
    Jumping is the only way to move a model without having the base fully supported in any situation. Vaulting is very special, but you still move fully supported.

    Here's what you're looking for, by the way:
    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Dodge

    • In Reactive Turn only, a successful Dodge allows the user to Move—or use another Short Movement Skill that doesn't require a Roll—up to 2 inches.
     
    Hecaton and Belgrim like this.