1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Rules Question - Treat

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Ginrei, Apr 29, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ginrei

    Ginrei Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    426
    When a rule tells me specifically to "treat" an effect/skill/ammo as another effect/skill/ammo, what exactly happens from a rule/process point of view? It's been suggested there is more than one way to handle this.

    From Total Immunity - "the owner is immune to the special effects of the Special Ammunitions, treating them as Normal Ammunition."

    GAME EXAMPLE
    A trooper with Total Immunity is hit by DA special ammo.

    Option A steps
    1. Activate any effects/skills/etc triggered by the DA special ammo hit.
    2. TI activates allowing the trooper to treat the hit as normal ammo so only makes one roll as per normal ammo, not two rolls as per DA special ammo.

    Option B steps
    1. Activate any effects/skills/etc triggered by the DA special ammo hit.
    2. TI activates changing this hit to a normal ammo hit. The trooper is now hit by normal ammo instead
    3. Activate any effects/skills/etc triggered by the normal ammo hit.
    4. Taking into account any new activation, make rolls accordingly.

    I see Option A as the only plausible conclusion based on the definition of the word

    treat
    /trēt/
    verb
    1. behave toward or deal with in a certain way.
    Opinions?
     
  2. MindwormGames

    MindwormGames Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    281
    And what's the functional difference between these two scenarios?

    The 'hit' is a successful attack, right? This attack does not 'care' what the ammo type is.

    You've followed all the rules for a BS attack and resolved your FtF roll with the target. You won the roll.

    Now you check the ammo type to see what happens. Total Immunity says that the ammo type is Normal, regardless of what the attacker's weapon says.

    In my understanding this happens before you apply any effects of the attacker's ammo type, because Total Immunity says to act as though the ammo type was Normal.


    I'm sure there are some examples of this, but what are some examples in which the distinction you are making even matters?
     
    Abrilete, chromedog and Ginrei like this.
  3. Ginrei

    Ginrei Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    426
    @MindwormGames Thanks for the response, I'd love to discuss that with you but I can't do that anymore.

    I want this thread locked @psychoticstorm. I made a mistake asking this community for anything.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.