I've heard a few podcasts refer to this rule, stating it increases both move values for the applicable terrain type. It does not - your 4-4 trooper become 5-4, not 5-5. This is the rule:
That's not supposed to be a bonus. That's supposed to even out the negative MOD of -1 inch to both values of MOV that is applied by Difficult Terrain (p. 134). So, a 4-4 MOV model with Terrain: Jungle is 3-3 MOV on an Aquatic or Zero-G but 4-3 MOV in a Jungle. I mean, TECHNICALLY, since every patch of Terrain on the table has to be predefined with a Type and at least one of the characteristics (Difficult Terrain / Saturation / Visibility Conditions), you could be silly and decide that a Jungle or Zero-G are is not Difficult Terrain at all. Then, a 4-4 MOV Trooper with the Terrain: Jungle or Zero-G, as applicable, would be 5-4 MOV. But as I said, that would be silly.
Hm, ok you're right, I didn't think the whole rule was so silly and ignores the Difficult Terrain altogether. The bonus is huge. My Terrain: Aquatic Devil Dog and Antipode are 7-4 and 7-6 in water. Wow.
Almost like Marines are good at swimming! (Though I guess it's doggy paddle in this case) I'm mentally reading Terrain skills as "Parkour (Terrain Type)" now.
Great, thanks... I just spent the last 30 minutes trying to figure out the best troop to modify into Michael Scott with the skill: Parkour (Office)