1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hemos actualizado nuestra Política de Privacidad acorde con la nueva RGPD. +Info // We've updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the GDPR. +Info
    Dismiss Notice

Predator Classified - what counts as "killing"?

Discussion in 'ITS' started by Hecaton, Mar 5, 2019.

  1. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,166
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    What happens if a trooper is put into a null state from a CC Attack (which counts as a kill for Predator's purpose), but then is shot or Coup de Grace'd to actually kill it?

    If a trooper is rendered Unconscious with a CC attack, then attacked again to kill it, does that count for two?
     
  2. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    1,554
    A killed model is a model taken to the DEAD status.
    No more, no less.
     
    daboarder and WarHound like this.
  3. RogueJello

    RogueJello Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    434
    Honestly, the rules are a bit ambiguous on exactly what is meant by "killed". I would assume @tox is correct and that a model is considered "killed" when it enters the dead state, but I don't believe it is ever specified.

    Further it's ambigious what it means for a model to be in the null state at the end of the game. In some missions it's not defined (ex: Acquisition, Capture and Protect), while in other's it means the model is considered "dead" at the end of the mission (ex: Annihilation).

    As such I believe what would happen would be that you would NOT get credit for Predator, since the model would not have been "killed", because going into the null state doesn't count until the end of the mission. Also technically even this would not happen in Acquisition, since there is no rule in Acquisition for putting null troopers into the dead state.

    I think it would clean up the ITS document for the "Killing" special rule to be made a rule that applies to all scenarios, instead of appearing as a special rule for some of them. Particularly since it's definition seems to be the same in all missions. As it stands Predator is a bit ambigious.
     
  4. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    1,554
    "Killing" is a special scenario rule for a reason.
    It states that "incapacitated" models at the end of the game are to be considered Killed, just like (who would ever told) Dead models.
     
    xagroth likes this.
  5. RogueJello

    RogueJello Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    434
    Is it? It's the same in all cases that I can find. Until the advent of Predator "Killing" didn't matter, except for the missions which included it. What is the reason for it being a special scenario rule?
     
  6. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    1,554
    Because in those Missions you score OP based on the amount of point Killed at the end of the game.
    Without that rules, Unconscious model would not be counted, just to say one...
     
  7. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    4,889
    Likes Received:
    9,944
    For what it's worth, even in missions that don't include the Killing rule, Unconscious troopers count as casualties for Retreat and for Victory Points.
     
    ChoTimberwolf, xagroth and RogueJello like this.
  8. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,166
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    I hope you'll be able to provide a basis for such a statement, because at every other instance in the rules, killing is defined as "dead or null state."
     
    DukeofEarl and RogueJello like this.
  9. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    1,554
    You mean in the Mission Special Rules.

    Because otherwise Killed is not defined at all.
     
    daboarder and A Mão Esquerda like this.
  10. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,166
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Ok. So if it's undefined, why do you say you have a basis for defining it a particular way in your post?
     
    inane.imp and RogueJello like this.
  11. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    4,880
    No its not mate.

    Unc units are only ever "Killed" id Unc at the end of the game, thats defined clear as day in the ITS
    You put a model Unc in CC, then you dont score pred until the end of the game when it goes into the dead state
     
    A Mão Esquerda likes this.
  12. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    4,212
    Stipulating that "killed" isn't strictly defined but should be.

    Everytime it's used in ITS (Assassination etc) it's taken to mean: "Cause the last transition into a Null state".

    So if a trooper is taken Unc in CC but later is taken Dead to a BS Attack then they were killed by the BS Attack. The reverse is also true.

    This is the only answer that provides consistency across all 'killed / killing' interactions.

    Remember that score classifieds as soon as the conditions are met. So it doesn't matter if the conditions stop being met at a later time.
     
    #12 inane.imp, Mar 5, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2019
    DukeofEarl likes this.
  13. Hachiman Taro

    Hachiman Taro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    727
    So hold on I always read Predator as meaning you have to kill a model to dead state in CC to get it. That would mean:

    * If you put it unconcious in CC it doesnt count (even if it counts as dead at the end of the game, because it wasnt made dead in CC)
    * If you put a model unconcious in CC then coup de grace it, it doesnt count either (since coup explicitly doesnt count from the text). Youd have to attack the unconcious body again and succeed your roll, have them fail saves etc until they were in dead state.

    Is that not true?
     
    ChoTimberwolf likes this.
  14. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    4,880
    its exactly like Lt kills in ITS missions
     
  15. Hachiman Taro

    Hachiman Taro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    727
    @ijw in this wgc Infinity thread pictured below I read you as saying you have to take the enemy model to dead in CC to get the Predator classified. But above I thought you implied taking it to null, then having it considered dead at the end of the game was enough?

    Would you mind clarifying? I have I misread something or has something changed?

    Would @HellLois mind clarifying either?

    (I do this classified a lot when I get it ;) )

    Screenshot 2019-04-26 08.20.47.png
     
  16. ijw

    ijw Wargaming Trader, Freelance Editor (UK)
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    4,889
    Likes Received:
    9,944
    That was specifically in reply to @tox talking about VPs etc, I should have quoted his post to make that clearer.

    As far as I’m aware, you have to take the troopers to Dead state via CC Attack. This is because of the clause about not being able to use Coup de Grâce for the ‘kills’, when Coup de Grâce can only be done if the target is already in a Null state.
     
    Hachiman Taro and ChoTimberwolf like this.