Pilot + Cybermask = Impersonating TAG?

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by Delta57Dash, Mar 9, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Delta57Dash

    Delta57Dash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2020
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    1,538
    Thinking about Nomads today and it struck me that this seems to be possible:

    Step 1: Szalamandra spends order, Pilot dismounts
    Step 2: Pilot uses an order and her KHD to perform "Cybermask," entering into the IMP-2 state.
    Step 3: Pilot spends a third order to declare "move," mounting the TAG.

    If I'm reading the relevant section of Pilot correctly, this would result in a TAG in IMP-2 state:

    upload_2021-3-9_14-44-41.png

    Mounting can be done on any movement-related skill, which don't break marker state, and all states the pilot was in are applied to the TAG upon re-mounting.

    Does this work? Is this intended? Because viability aside the idea of a TAG throwing on a mustache and waltzing past repeaters is hilarious.
     
  2. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    7,241
    Likes Received:
    6,557
    I certainly hope this works because that's hilarious.
     
    Delta57Dash likes this.
  3. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    630
    Assuming each step is a separate order. . . I can't see anything that would fail this.
     
  4. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,353
    Likes Received:
    14,845
    Please see the General Movement Rules:
    • Mounting or dismounting will cancel the Hidden Deployment State, and any Marker State, of both profiles.
     
  5. Delta57Dash

    Delta57Dash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2020
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    1,538
    Bah, so that’s where it was hidden.

    Oh well.

    EDIT: Is there a way we could get this added to both the Pilot rules and the Marker state rules? I feel like this should be under those headings instead of buried in the general movement rules.

    It’s odd that it’s not listed under the “Cancellation” header, and the Pilot rule that “all states are transferred” makes the interaction unclear if one doesn’t know to check the movement rules.
     
  6. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,353
    Likes Received:
    14,845
    I get your point, but it’s literally impossible to have reached the point where your TAG Pilot has Dismounted from a TAG without having referenced the rules for Mounting and Dismounting. ;-)
     
    chromedog and A Mão Esquerda like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation