1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Peripheral (Chimera) Close Combat question

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Kwisatz Haderach, Apr 1, 2021.

  1. Kwisatz Haderach

    Kwisatz Haderach Zelenograd Shasvastii
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    333
    So we got recently a situation on stream and we honestly don’t know how to play this out.

    chimera and her unit moved into CC with lots of different models in her active turn as first short skill
    Pupnik 1 moved in btb with Mendoza
    Pupnik 2 and Chimera moved into CC with Order sergeant
    Pupnik 3 moved into BtB with Mulebot

    what is possible CC attack declaration for Chimera’s unit? Do you have to chose either Pupnik 2 or Chimera to CC attack? What will Pupnik 1 and 2 do? Idle?

    or Pupnik 1 , Pupnik 3 and Pupnik 2/Chimera will declare CC attack at models they are engaged with?


    What will happen if all of the models from Chimera’s unit will be engaged with different models?
    Pupnik 1 with Order sergeant 1
    Pupnik 2 with order sergeant 2
    Pupnik 3 with Mendoza
    Chimera with Mulebot
     
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    8,106
    Likes Received:
    14,691
    https://infinitythewiki.com/Peripheral

    In Close Combat, the rules described in Close Combat with Multiple Troopers must be applied.

    https://infinitythewiki.com/Close_Combat#Close_Combat_With_Multiple_Troopers

    Close Combat With Multiple Troopers
    This rule is applied when more than 2 Troopers are engaged in Close Combat and any of them is activated.


    During the Active Turn:
    When declaring a CC Attack, the Player must select one Trooper or Peripheral activated by the Order. That Trooper or Peripheral performs the CC Attack and obtains a +1 MOD to B for each Allied Trooper or Peripheral that is not in a Null or Immobilized State, and is in Silhouette contact with their target.
     
  3. Foxbringer

    Foxbringer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    119
    So this is an intentional change of rules from N3 to nerf all controllers with their CC related peripherals?

    Upd: I think that this should work in each individual CC combat, but not for the all activated models inbetween different engages because it is stupid.
     
  4. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,064
    Likes Received:
    14,416
    Note that the multiple Troopers rule in @colbrook’s post is per combat. So you will get to attack with one Trooper per combat.

    P1 attacks Mendoza.
    P2 OR Chimera attacks Order Sergeant, with +1B from the other.
    P3 attacks Mulebot.

    EDIT - note that this does not match the published rule. For now, go with the published rule and it's been added to the FAQ queue.
     
    #4 ijw, Apr 1, 2021
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2021
  5. Kwisatz Haderach

    Kwisatz Haderach Zelenograd Shasvastii
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    333
    Thanks mate! We needed some qlarification on that one
     
    slp likes this.
  6. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    8,106
    Likes Received:
    14,691
    As an FYI that's really not clear to me from the text, possible FAQ/Errata candidate?
     
    ijw, Brokenwolf, inane.imp and 2 others like this.
  7. Delta57Dash

    Delta57Dash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2020
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    787
    Seconding this.
     
  8. wes-o-matic

    wes-o-matic feeelthy casual

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    960
    If all the models are activated but only one performs CC, doesn’t that mean the various engaged enemies can get an unopposed CC or Dodge ARO against the non-performing troopers?

    Uberfall activates:

    Chimera declares CC vs. Order Sergeant. Pupnik 2 Idles but contributes +1B to Chimera. OS can dodge or CC vs. Chimera (FtF) or Pupnik 2 (Normal roll) since both activated and are valid ARO targets.

    Pupnik 1 Idles. Mendoza gets to normal roll ARO CC or Dodge vs. Pupnik 1.

    Pupnik 3 Idles. Mulebot gets to normal roll ARO CC or Dodge vs. Pupnik 3.

    Have I got that right?
     
  9. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    8,106
    Likes Received:
    14,691
    With the ruling @ijw gave above that it's one trooper per Close Combat that's activated:

    P1 is F2F against Mendoza

    P3 is F2F against the Mulebot

    P2 and Chimera: The savvy play here is probably to Idle/Move as the first Skill, Sarge now has to choose their ARO, they can Dodge which applies against any incoming attack, or they can choose to CC the Chimera or P2. The Active player can then Declare CC Attack with their second skill and choose either the Chimera or P2 to actually make the attack, so it can either be a F2F roll, or two normal rolls depending on who does what.
     
    wes-o-matic and Foxbringer like this.
  10. wes-o-matic

    wes-o-matic feeelthy casual

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    960
    Ok, thanks, this just helped snap something into focus for me: Peripherals work like a coordinated order, not a fireteam, except in the case of Servants executing Dr/Engineer remotely, or Control peripherals that are somewhere in between. I don’t play with them much except for Servants, so this area’s been a bit hazy for me.

    Also, y i k e s. Uberfall scary.
     
  11. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    564
    The rules quote above you states differently then this post. In other threads there would be a tag for official answers.

    Is your answer to be different than what was quoted in the rules because that quote indicated it was per order of cc attack not per combat?
     
  12. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,020
    Likes Received:
    7,119
    Nah the Chimera is in CC so the Reactive Player should generally either:
    A) attack the Chimera to try and survive if you have good CC / are praying for a miracle
    B) attack the Pup to delete a Pup.

    Really in this situation the Uberfalls player hasnt optimised their attack. If possible, they should:

    Move 2 Pups into CC with Mendoza
    Chimera into CC with the OS
    Pup into CC with the Mulebot

    This allows you to trade 1 Pup for B2 DA vs Mendoza. The Chimera is able to handle an OS on her own.
     
  13. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,064
    Likes Received:
    14,416
    Good point. For now, I suggest sticking with the written rule and I'll add it to the FAQ queue.
     
    inane.imp and kinginyellow like this.
  14. Methuselah

    Methuselah Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    40
    Sorry, I am having a hard time tracking. Will Peripherals and their controller (in multiple, sperate engagements) get to declare one CC attack per order or per combat?
     
  15. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,064
    Likes Received:
    14,416
    See colbrook's first post:
    One single Trooper gets to perform the CC Attack. The CC with Multiple Troopers rule doesn't contain any exceptions for multiple combats, and neither does the Peripheral rule. The Peripheral rule probably should include an exception, but that will be an FAQ issue.
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation