From Initiative and Deployment rules we have: Player One Deployment: Following the order established in the Initiative Roll, as decided by the player who kept Deployment, the first player places all but one of his Troopers totally inside his Deployment Zone. Player Two Deployment: Once Player One is done, Player Two places all but one of her Troopers totally inside her Deployment Zone. Player One Last Trooper: Then, Player One places the Trooper he kept back during step one. Player Two Last Trooper: Finally, Player Two places the Trooper she kept back during step two. From NOTE on the same page: Other Special Skills, like Combat Jump, allow players not to place certain Troopers on the battlefield at all during the Deployment Phase. So, is it possible to keep Paratrooper as your reserve miniature, but not to place it on the table? I'd say "no" because it is not required to place paratrooper on the table, but I must place the last miniature.