1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Paratrooper in reserve.

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Foxbringer, Dec 4, 2020.

  1. Foxbringer

    Foxbringer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    119
    From Initiative and Deployment rules we have:
    1. Player One Deployment: Following the order established in the Initiative Roll, as decided by the player who kept Deployment, the first player places all but one of his Troopers totally inside his Deployment Zone.
    2. Player Two Deployment: Once Player One is done, Player Two places all but one of her Troopers totally inside her Deployment Zone.
    3. Player One Last Trooper: Then, Player One places the Trooper he kept back during step one.
    4. Player Two Last Trooper: Finally, Player Two places the Trooper she kept back during step two.
    From NOTE on the same page: Other Special Skills, like Combat Jump, allow players not to place certain Troopers on the battlefield at all during the Deployment Phase.

    So, is it possible to keep Paratrooper as your reserve miniature, but not to place it on the table?

    I'd say "no" because it is not required to place paratrooper on the table, but I must place the last miniature.
     
  2. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,074
    Likes Received:
    14,425
    The phrasing for both 'parts' of your deployment are functionally identical:

    'the first player places'
    'Player One places'

    So yes, you can keep a Trooper with Parachutist or Combat Jump back as your reserve Trooper, and then decide to keep them off-table via their special skill.
     
    inane.imp, Foxbringer and wes-o-matic like this.
  3. wes-o-matic

    wes-o-matic feeelthy casual

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    964
    ...why would you voluntarily do this, though? Psychological warfare?
     
  4. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,074
    Likes Received:
    14,425
    There’s not much point in N4. It could be useful in N3 where you had to choose where the Parachutists were going to walk on.
     
  5. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    11,028
    Likes Received:
    13,772
    It could reinforce the idea that you have a Hidden Deployment trooper that you don't have.
     
  6. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    8,157
    Likes Received:
    14,817
    Depending on your opponent's deployment you might also want to start on the table instead?
     
    wes-o-matic likes this.
  7. Foxbringer

    Foxbringer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    119
    I have seen para-commando HMG in FRRM or fraacta-HMG in Onyx as solo attackers deployed on the table in N3. Not the worst choices in their sectorials.
     
    Urobros likes this.
  8. Stampysaur

    Stampysaur Wallace is my LT

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    115
    I have done it previously with Margot when going second. The suppressive fire command token use is a nice combo with this.
     
  9. colbrook

    colbrook Black Fryer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    8,157
    Likes Received:
    14,817
    Sadly neither of them have HMGs any more.
    Margot and possibly Duroc were the ones that came to my mind.
     
  10. Stampysaur

    Stampysaur Wallace is my LT

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    115
    yea, I like to hold margot back when going second just in case. if i go first i generally start my turn moving one of them to my second combat group.
     
  11. MrAnarchy

    MrAnarchy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    28
    You can’t deploy a para model during deployment phase or am I wrong?
     
  12. wes-o-matic

    wes-o-matic feeelthy casual

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    964
    You can deploy it normally in your DZ, rendering Parachutist useless (it's an optional skill) or use Parachutist to bring it on later. You can't use Parachutist during the Deployment Phase to walk on the side of the board because you can't declare Orders during Deployment.
     
    inane.imp and QueensGambit like this.
  13. Nihilim

    Nihilim New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Why keep a combat jump as last trooper to deploy? Makes no sense or I am understanding the rules of deployment wrong?

    If I have 8 regular troopers, 1 hidden deployment, 1 combat jump. Total 10 units.

    The opponent only knows about the 8, and sees 8 orders.

    I would deploy 7 regular, 1 hidden and keep 1 regular in reserve to deploy last.
    The combat jump is a secret and will just appear whenever I want to combat jump, or I am wrong?
     
  14. Stampysaur

    Stampysaur Wallace is my LT

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    115
    No you are correct, but there are some use cases to deploy in your DZ instead. In particular I have deployed Margot instead of using parachutist because my opponent had 2 in reserve and I had an 2 fire lanes to cover and needed to make the decision to defend one or just jump later.

    in my case the opponent deployed and was still missing 2 troops somewhere so i covered the lane that also had a good parachutist walk in spot for him. Just in case.
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation